## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Southern Methodist University is celebrating the 2 100th anniversary of its founding and 10 decades of educational 3 excellence in 2011; and

WHEREAS, Created in 1911 by what is now the United Methodist 4 5 Church with support from Dallas community leaders, Southern Methodist University is a private institution of higher education 6 7 that is nonsectarian in its teaching; recognized as a top-tier national university by U.S. News & World Report, the school has an 8 enrollment of nearly 11,000 students who come from all 50 states and 9 more than 90 foreign countries and who represent diverse economic, 10 11 ethnic, and religious backgrounds; and

12 WHEREAS, SMU offers 123 undergraduate degree programs and 127 graduate and professional programs, including 25 doctorates 13 14 through seven schools in the humanities and sciences, performing, visual, and communication arts, business, engineering, education 15 and human development, law, and theology; its 10 libraries house 16 the largest private collection of research materials in the 17 Southwest, with more than three million volumes; the school has 18 more than 660 full-time faculty members and nearly 112,000 alumni 19 20 worldwide, with about half that number residing in Texas; and

21 WHEREAS, Along with a threefold increase in applications over 22 the last 15 years, SMU has seen the average SAT scores of its 23 first-year undergraduate students rise approximately 100 points in 24 the past decade; the university has greatly expanded its study

1

abroad options, and now affords access to 145 programs in nearly 50
countries; SMU's endowment surpassed \$1 billion in 2005; and

3 WHEREAS, SMU will be the site of the George W. Bush 4 Presidential Center, which will feature a library, museum, and 5 independent institute and is scheduled to open in 2013; the 6 university is also home to the Meadows Museum, which boasts one of 7 the finest collections of Spanish artworks outside of Spain, with 8 pieces by El Greco, Velazquez, Goya, Picasso, and Miro; and

9 WHEREAS, Over the course of an eventful century, Southern 10 Methodist University has provided its students with an education 11 that has enriched them both academically and personally, and in so 12 doing, the school has made important contributions to Texas and the 13 world beyond; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas hereby honor Southern Methodist University for its 10 decades of outstanding service and extend to the university's administration, faculty, staff, students, and alumni sincere best wishes for a successful centennial celebration; and, be it further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for Southern Methodist University as an expression of high 21 regard by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

> Branch Pitts

2

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 10 was adopted by the House on March 15, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 10 was adopted by the Senate on March 15, 2011, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: \_\_\_\_\_

Date

Governor