## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Distinguished representatives of the Texas Tech 2 University System are gathering at the State Capitol on February 1, 3 2011, to celebrate the system's vital role in the Lone Star State; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, The TTU System, governed by a nine-member board of 6 regents and chancellor Kent Hance, consists of Texas Tech 7 University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, and 8 Angelo State University; the system currently enrolls more than 9 42,000 students, employs some 18,000 faculty and staff members, and 10 counts over 250,000 alumni; and

11 WHEREAS, Looking to the future, the system has developed five 12 strategic priorities, including improving access to education and 13 promoting learning, strengthening the academic excellence of 14 member institutions, expanding knowledge through research, serving 15 its communities, and effectively managing its resources; and

WHEREAS, Each component of the system provides unique educational opportunities; Texas Tech University is a major comprehensive research university, led by Dr. Guy Bailey; enrolling more than 31,600 students in 12 colleges and schools, TTU offers more than 150 undergraduate programs, 100 master's programs, and 60 doctoral programs, and it is among a select group of institutions to shelter a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa; and

23 WHEREAS, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center is 24 composed of the TTUHSC School of Medicine, the School of Allied

1

Health Sciences, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, the Anita Thigpen Perry School of Nursing, the School of Pharmacy, and the new Paul L. Foster School of Medicine in El Paso, which seated its first class in July 2009; overseen by Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell, TTUHSC enrolls nearly 3,700 students and boasts more than 11,000 alumni; and

7 WHEREAS, Founded in 1928, Angelo State University enrolls 8 more than 6,800 students in six colleges and is directed by Dr. 9 Joseph C. Rallo; ASU was the first university in the state to offer 10 a degree in computer science, and the institution's physics 11 department has been designated by *Physics Today* as one of the top 12 undergraduate programs in the nation; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Tech University System has provided countless students with an outstanding education and a strong foundation for the future, and in so doing, it has contributed to the remarkable achievements of the state as a whole; now, therefore, be it

2

1 RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas 2 hereby recognize February 1, 2011, as Texas Tech University System 3 Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to all those from 4 the TTU System who are visiting here today.

> Hilderbran Frullo Perry Smithee Keffer Chisum Craddick Darby Hardcastle Landtroop Lewis Nash Price Reynolds Solomons

H.C.R. No. 35

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 35 was adopted by the House on February 1, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 35 was adopted by the Senate on February 1, 2011, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: \_\_\_\_\_

Date

Governor