HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Regents School of Austin football team reached
- 2 the pinnacle of success by winning the Texas Association of Private
- 3 and Parochial Schools Division III state football championship for
- 4 2010; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In the title game held December 4, 2010, at Temple
- 6 Wildcat Stadium, the Knights put on an unstoppable display of
- 7 offensive firepower to defeat Bullard Brook Hill 38-7; with this
- 8 victory, Regents became the first school in the history of TAPPS to
- 9 garner five state football titles in one decade, having previously
- 10 won titles in six-man football in 2001, 2002, and 2003 and in 11-man
- 11 football in 2006; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Head coach Beck Brydon guided the Knights to an
- 13 overall record of 14 wins and 1 loss over the course of the 2010
- 14 season, and the squad outscored opponents 725 to 256; Coach
- 15 Brydon's efforts were supported by a strong coaching staff that
- 16 includes Clay Carter, Sam Thompson, Scott Franklin, Mike Lapaglia,
- 17 Landon Durham, Guy Grace, and Steve Chapman; and
- 18 WHEREAS, To bring home the state title, the Regents team
- 19 relied on outstanding performances from each member of the roster:
- 20 Salim Hajjar, Dawson Gamble, Joseph Benigno, Ben Grunau, Ben Adams,
- 21 John Bauman, Andrew Meynig, Walker Netherton, Carson Rice, Hunter
- 22 Hogan, Jason Chapman, Matthew Baughman, Caleb Smith, Luke Moore,
- 23 Cole Gilmore, Nick Pawelka, Matthew Deskins, Douglas Meynig, Rodney
- 24 Keller, Turner Whatley, Gentry Snow, Joseph Edling, Jim Grace, Matt

H.C.R. No. 62

- 1 Gore, Connor Kelly, Justin Lambert, Robert Feller, Brandon Larner,
- 2 Brian Hine, Stafford Sadler, Caleb Kyle, Chase Strickland, Will
- 3 Bowers, Carson Klubnik, and JD McBee; and
- WHEREAS, These hardworking young athletes maintained a firm
- 5 focus on their goals, undeterred by any obstacles that stood in
- 6 their way; through their diligence, resolve, and commitment to
- 7 excellence, they have furthered the Knights' exceptional tradition
- 8 of achievement on the gridiron, and their accomplishments are a
- 9 source of pride to their families and fellow students; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 12 hereby congratulate the Regents School of Austin football team on
- 13 winning the 2010 TAPPS Division III state championship and extend
- 14 to the players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for
- 15 continued success; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 18 House of Representatives and Senate.

Workman

H.C.R. No. 62

Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Marclendon Monorador	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White
	Martinez	
Gallego	McClendon	White
Garza Geren	Menendez Miles	Woolley Workman
Giddings	Miller of Comal	Zedler
Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Erath	Zerwas
211111111111111111111111111111111111111		

	H.C.R. No. 62
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 6	52 was adopted by the House on March
3, 2011, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 6 24, 2011, by a viva-voce vote.	2 was adopted by the Senate on March
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	