H.C.R. No. 125

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents of Marshall are gathering at the State
- 2 Capitol on March 30, 2011, to celebrate the contributions of their
- 3 fair city to the Lone Star State; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Located near the Texas-Louisiana border in the
- 5 beautiful rolling hills of East Texas, the city was named in honor
- 6 of Chief Justice John Marshall and has served as the seat of
- 7 Harrison County since 1842; and
- 8 WHEREAS, By 1860, Marshall had become one of the largest and
- 9 wealthiest towns in the region, and its success was due in large
- 10 part to the railway system that supported the town's commercial and
- 11 industrial development and sizable agricultural industry; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Today, blessed with an abundance of red and white
- 13 clay, residents of Marshall have built a flourishing ceramics
- 14 industry, with 12 wholesale pottery manufacturers, five retail
- 15 outlets, and countless talented artisans; and
- WHEREAS, The city has long been considered an educational
- 17 center for East Texas, as it is home to three institutions of higher
- 18 learning: East Texas Baptist University, Texas State Technical
- 19 College, and Wiley College; and
- WHEREAS, For many years, citizens of Marshall have
- 21 demonstrated a deep commitment to preserving their heritage, as
- 22 evidenced by the Ginocchio National Historic District, which
- 23 features one of the state's finest examples of Victorian hotel
- 24 architecture, the 1896 Ginocchio Hotel; the city is also the site of

H.C.R. No. 125

- 1 the Texas and Pacific Depot, the Allen House, the Weisman Center,
- 2 and the Harrison County Historical Museum, all of which contribute
- 3 to a revitalized downtown area; and
- WHEREAS, Supporting a thriving arts community as well, the
- 5 city is aided by the Marshall Regional Arts Council, which has
- 6 presented lively seasons of performances to residents and tourists
- 7 alike for the past two decades; the Michelson Museum of Art, the
- 8 Marshall Symphony, and the Marshall Visual Arts Center all
- 9 contribute to the cultural vibrancy of this remarkable East Texas
- 10 city; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Marshall was named an All-American City by the
- 12 National Municipal League in 1976, and the city's residents remain
- 13 justifiably proud of this prestigious honor as they continue their
- 14 efforts to preserve the city's rich history while preparing for a
- 15 bright and promising future; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 17 hereby recognize March 30, 2011, as Marshall Day at the State
- 18 Capitol and extend to all those who are visiting sincere best wishes
- 19 for an enjoyable and informative trip to the State Capitol.

Hughes

## H.C.R. No. 125

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

F	т .	$\sim$	D	Nο	1	2	ㄷ
Н	1 1	( '	R	$I \times I \cap I$	- 1	/	ר

Presid	dent of the Senate		Speaker	of the Hous	se
I Ce	ertify that H.C.R. No	o. 125 w	as adopted by	the House	n March
30, 2011,	by a non-record vote	•			
			Chief Cl	erk of the H	louse
I Ce	ertify that H.C.R. No	o. 125 wa	as adopted by	the Senate o	on March
30, 2011,	by a viva-voce vote.				
			Secreta	ry of the Se	enate
APPROVED:					
	Date				
	Governor				