HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The State of Texas lost an admired public servant

and civic leader with the death of former secretary of state Myra

3 McDaniel of Austin on February 25, 2010, at the age of 77; and

WHEREAS, Born in Philadelphia on December 13, 1932, the

5 former Myra Atwell was the daughter of Eva and Toronto Atwell; she

6 attended the prestigious Philadelphia High School for Girls and

7 earned her bachelor's degree in English from the University of

8 Pennsylvania; after her marriage to Reuben McDaniel, she became the

9 proud mother of two children, Diane and Reuben; and

10 WHEREAS, Mrs. McDaniel began her career as a management

11 analyst and served in administrative positions at Baldwin Wallace

12 College in Ohio and at Indiana University; in 1975, she completed

13 her law degree at The University of Texas School of Law and she went

14 on to work in the office of the Texas attorney general; she became

15 chief of the taxation division in 1979 and then worked as counsel

16 for the Railroad Commission before entering private practice in

17 Midland; and

2

WHEREAS, In 1984, Governor Mark White appointed Mrs. McDaniel

19 as his general counsel; she became the first African American

20 secretary of state in Texas history two years later, and her

21 intellect, integrity, and wisdom greatly benefited her fellow

22 citizens; treating all those around her with thoughtfulness and

23 respect, she won the loyalty of her staff and set a sterling example

24 of leadership during her three-year tenure; and

1 WHEREAS, This esteemed woman continued to serve as a mentor and role model after returning to private practice, and in 1995, she 2 3 became one of the first African American women to lead a major law firm, Bickerstaff, Heath, Smiley, Pollan, Kever and McDaniel, as 4 managing partner; over the course of her distinguished legal 5 career, she served as counsel for Austin Community College and 6 Capital Metro, and she continued to work part-time for Bickerstaff 7 8 Heath well into her seventies; and WHEREAS, Deeply committed to her community, Mrs. McDaniel won 9

10 numerous awards for her contributions; she served on the boards of St. Edward's University, Seton Hospital, the Episcopal Seminary of 11 12 the Southwest, and many other organizations; a valued member of St. James Episcopal Church, she served as a senior warden and edited the 13 14 church newsletter; more than a mere fan of the UT women's basketball 15 team, she generously shared her time and expertise with young athletes, offering special encouragement over the years to those 16 17 interested in pursuing law degrees; and

WHEREAS, Myra McDaniel inspired innumerable people through 18 19 her remarkable achievements and unyielding dedication to public service, and her positive influence will continue to resonate in 20 the myriad lives she touched in the years to come; now, therefore, 21 22 be it

RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas 23 24 hereby pay special tribute to the memory of Myra McDaniel and extend sincere condolences to the members of her family: to her husband, 25 26 Reuben R. McDaniel, Jr.; to her children, Diane Rhodes and Reuben McDaniel III; to grandchildren 27 her seven and two

- 1 great-grandchildren; and to her many other relatives and friends;
- 2 and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 5 Representatives and Senate adjourn this day, they do so in memory of
- 6 Myra McDaniel.

Beck Coleman Thompson

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

тт	α	Ъ	1 T -	139
Н	('	R	$N \cap$	1 3 9

	H.C.R. No. 139
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
	was unanimously adopted by a
rising vote of the House on April 28, 2	2011.
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 139	was unanimously adopted by a
rising vote of the Senate on May 9, 201	1.
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	