## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center is 2 marking its 70th anniversary in 2011, and this occasion provides an 3 ideal opportunity to recognize the remarkable achievements of this 4 noteworthy institution; and

5 WHEREAS, Over the past seven decades, MD Anderson has served more than 800,000 people, the majority of whom have been Texas 6 7 residents, and patients in every corner of the world have benefited from medical discoveries at the center; public education and 8 9 community outreach programs initiated by MD Anderson now reach more 10 than 1.4 million Texans annually and address the needs of those at increased risk for cancer, particularly underserved and minority 11 populations; and 12

WHEREAS, For many years, MD Anderson has received more grants 13 14 from the National Cancer Institute and conducted more clinical trials to evaluate new treatments than any other institution; the 15 16 center sets the standard in developing new therapies targeted to the cancer-related genes and proteins associated with each 17 patient's disease; moreover, MD Anderson has expanded the continuum 18 of care beyond diagnosis and treatment of cancer patients to 19 20 encompass major programs in cancer prevention and to address the 21 special needs of cancer survivors; and

WHEREAS, Rising to meet the health care challenges of the 23 21st century, MD Anderson excels as a degree-granting institution; 24 it awards baccalaureate degrees in eight allied health disciplines

1

1 and master's and doctoral degrees in biomedical research; more than
2 85,000 physicians, scientists, nurses, and health care
3 professionals have been trained at the center; and

H.C.R. No. 140

4 WHEREAS, President John Mendelsohn, M.D., has guided MD 5 Anderson for the past 15 years, building on the strong foundation built by his predecessors, Charles A. LeMaistre, M.D., and R. Lee 6 Clark, M.D.; Dr. Mendelsohn provides inspired leadership to a staff 7 8 of more than 17,000 dedicated professionals, along with approximately 1,200 hospital volunteers; their efforts 9 are 10 supported by the skillful direction of The University of Texas System Board of Regents, the work of citizen volunteers of The 11 University Cancer Foundation Board of Visitors, and the generosity 12 13 of thousands of donors; and

14 WHEREAS, Internationally recognized for its excellence, The 15 University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center has been named the nation's number one cancer hospital by US News & World Report; the 16 17 exceptional reputation of this institution is a reflection of its immeasurable contributions to the advancement of medical science 18 19 and of the outstanding care that has made a positive difference in the lives of hundreds of thousands of patients and their families 20 over the past seven decades; now, therefore, be it 21

RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas hereby commemorate the 70th anniversary of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and extend to all those associated with the institution sincere best wishes for continued success in their vital endeavors; and, be it further

27

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2

1 prepared for The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center as an 2 expression of high regard by the Texas Senate and House of 3 Representatives.

S. Davis of Harris

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 140 was adopted by the House on April 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 140 was adopted by the Senate on April 29, 2011, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: \_\_\_\_\_

Date

Governor