HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of the Austin Area Urban League are visiting
the State Capitol on May 25, 2011; and

3 WHEREAS, Founded on August 12, 1977, the Austin Area Urban 4 League is affiliated with the National Urban League, a civil rights 5 organization that has fought discrimination for more than a 6 century; the Urban League has contributed immeasurably to social 7 progress and remains dedicated to the economic empowerment of 8 historically underserved residents in urban communities; and

9 WHEREAS, The Austin Area Urban League began operations in the 10 basement of Wesley United Methodist Church; from that humble 11 beginning, the organization has grown dramatically to meet the 12 needs of area residents; and

WHEREAS, In addition to job readiness training, the group's Workforce Development program provides GED courses, job search assistance, and office and life skills instruction; the league works with 300 employers to help job candidates find suitable positions, and it conducts after-school computer and technology classes at four different Housing Authority of Austin sites; and

WHEREAS, The organization offers a first-time homebuyer's class and awards those who complete it a \$1,000 grant toward a down payment; moreover, it performs hundreds of emergency and scheduled home repairs annually, free of cost to low-income home owners, and it partners with some 40 other entities, including Dell, Seton, and the Meadows Foundation, to further its important goals; and

1

1 WHEREAS, Today, the Austin Area Urban League remains fortunate in the continued leadership of many of its esteemed 2 3 founders, including the Reverend Freddie Dixon, who was pastor of Wesley United Methodist Church in 1977 when the church became the 4 5 birthplace of the Urban League in Central Texas, and the Honorable Harriett Murphy, a retired municipal court judge who was a new 6 attorney working to help found the league in the 1970s; also among 7 8 this number are Linda Moore Smith, the organization's first executive director, who went on to serve the National Urban League 9 10 in New York before reprising her role in Austin, and Carolyn Holt Goldston, a longtime advocate for racial justice and civil rights 11 12 and a lifetime member of the organization; continuing the tradition of excellence established by these local legends are Austin native 13 14 Scotty Holman, a financial executive, who serves as the 2010 chair, 15 and the Honorable Jeffrey K. Richard, who was elected president and chief executive officer in 2005 and also serves as a trustee for the 16 17 Austin Community College District; other noteworthy founders and longtime members continue to share their wisdom and experience with 18 19 the organization and inspire the members of its newest program, the AAUL Young Professionals; and 20

21 WHEREAS, Unwavering in its determination to improve race relations and foster economic and social equality, the Austin Area 22 23 Urban League has created an enduring legacy, and its efforts in 24 behalf of education, employment readiness, wellness, and affordable housing are greatly benefiting innumerable people and 25 26 making a lasting, positive difference in the community; now, therefore, be it 27

2

1 RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas 2 hereby honor the Austin Area Urban League for its outstanding 3 achievements and extend to its members sincere best wishes for 4 continued success; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

Dukes

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 153 was adopted by the House on May 19, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 153 was adopted by the Senate on May 25, 2011, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _____

Date

Governor