## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Stephen Hartmann of Midland retired as executive 2 director of University Lands for The University of Texas System on 3 April 30, 2011, concluding a distinguished career with the 4 institution that spanned more than three decades; and

5 WHEREAS, A graduate of Southwest Texas State University, 6 Steve Hartmann earned his master's degree in range science from 7 Texas A&M University; he joined UT Lands-Surface Interests as a 8 field representative in 1976 and served as director of University 9 Lands-West Texas Operations for five years before his appointment 10 as executive director in 1997; and

11 WHEREAS, Mr. Hartmann was the first individual to assume 12 responsibility for all aspects of University Lands operations, 13 including the management of 2.1 million acres of Permanent 14 University Fund properties across 19 West Texas counties; in 15 addition to directing the management of oil, gas, and other mineral 16 operations, he oversaw grazing, farming, and hunting leases, as 17 well as utility easements and business sites; and

18 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of this dynamic and plain-spoken Texan, the annual revenue from University Lands 19 increased fivefold, adding a cumulative income of more than \$3.7 20 21 billion to the Permanent University Fund and Available University 22 Fund; in 2011, contributions to the Permanent University Fund will 23 exceed \$800 million; Mr. Hartmann added significant new revenue 24 sources, including Ste. Genevieve Winery, Mesa Vineyard, which is

1

the largest vineyard in Texas, and vast wind farms to generate power for Texas residents and businesses; moreover, he recently presided over two record-breaking sales of leases for mineral development on University Lands, facilitated by his implementation of technology such as a robust GIS system enabling online mapping and access of well data; and

WHEREAS, The USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service 7 8 recognized Mr. Hartmann in 2009 for land conservation and restoration efforts, and he received the W. R. Chapline Land 9 10 Stewardship Award from the Society for Range Management; he served the Society for Range Management-Texas Section as president, as a 11 12 director, and in myriad other leadership roles, and he also served on the Texas Tech College of Agricultural Sciences Dean's Advisory 13 14 Committee; in addition, he has given generously of his time and 15 talents as a member of the International Right-of-Way Association, the International Pipeline Committee, the Permian Basin Petroleum 16 17 Association, and Midland's Environmental Professionals; and

WHEREAS, In all his endeavors, Mr. Hartmann enjoys the support and encouragement of his wife, Georgia, and their two sons, daughter-in-law, and granddaughter; and

21 WHEREAS, Admired for his integrity, responsible stewardship 22 of the land, and exceptional business acumen, Steve Hartmann 23 greatly benefited The University of Texas System and the entire 24 Lone Star State, and his accomplishments will continue to resonate 25 in the years to come; now, therefore, be it

26 RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas 27 hereby congratulate Steve Hartmann on his retirement as executive

2

1 director of University Lands for The University of Texas System and 2 extend sincere appreciation for his outstanding contributions; 3 and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for Mr. Hartmann as an expression of high regard by the 6 Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

Craddick

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 154 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 154 was adopted by the Senate on May 12, 2011, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: \_\_\_\_\_

Date

Governor