H.C.R. No. 175

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Citizens of Texas are marking the 175th anniversary
- 2 of the adoption of the Texas Declaration of Independence on March 2,
- 3 2011; and
- WHEREAS, By the fall of 1835, tensions that would culminate
- 5 in the Texas Revolution were coming to a head, and in December, a
- 6 convention of delegates from every Texas municipality was called to
- 7 meet in the new town of Washington on March 1, 1836; and
- 8 WHEREAS, On the first day of the convention, George C.
- 9 Childress introduced a resolution calling for a committee to draft
- 10 a declaration of independence; the measure was approved, and the
- 11 convention president, Richard Ellis, appointed a five-member
- 12 committee, with Mr. Childress as chair, to prepare the document;
- 13 the resulting composition is generally believed to be almost
- 14 entirely the work of Mr. Childress, who may have arrived at the
- 15 convention with a draft that he had already written; and
- WHEREAS, Patterned on the declaration of 1776, the Texas
- 17 Declaration of Independence was presented to the convention on
- 18 March 2; according to the report of an observer, the declaration was
- 19 then "committed to a committee of the whole, reported without
- 20 amendment, and unanimously adopted, in less than one hour from its
- 21 first and only reading"; the motion to adopt was made by Sam
- 22 Houston, whom the convention appointed two days later to take
- 23 command of the Texas army; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Delegates also adopted a constitution for the new

H.C.R. No. 175

- 1 Republic of Texas and elected an interim government; those chosen
- 2 to serve were David G. Burnet, president, Lorenzo de Zavala, vice
- 3 president, Samuel P. Carson, secretary of state, Thomas J. Rusk,
- 4 secretary of war, Robert Potter, secretary of the navy, Bailey
- 5 Hardeman, secretary of the treasury, and David Thomas, attorney
- 6 general; the constitution was ratified by voters the following
- 7 September, and the interim government served until that October,
- 8 when regular elections were held; and
- 9 WHEREAS, News that the Alamo had fallen reached the
- 10 convention on March 15, and two days later, reports that the Mexican
- 11 army had advanced to within 60 miles of Washington prompted the
- 12 delegates to hastily adjourn; little more than a month later,
- 13 however, the Battle of San Jacinto made Texas independence a
- 14 reality; and
- WHEREAS, The Republic of Texas endured until December 29,
- 16 1845, when Texas officially entered the Union as the 28th state;
- 17 those nine years, when Texas enjoyed the status of an independent
- 18 country, constitute a remarkable chapter in its history, and more
- 19 than a century and a half after annexation, they continue to
- 20 engender a special sense of pride and identity among its citizens;
- 21 now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 23 hereby join the people of the Lone Star State in commemorating the
- 24 175th anniversary of the adoption of the Texas Declaration of
- 25 Independence.

Branch

H.C.R. No. 175

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	_			
Н	\sim	R	$N \cap$	175

	H.C.R. No. 175
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 175	was adopted by the House on
February 28, 2011, by a non-record vote	e.
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 175	was adopted by the Senate on
February 28, 2011, by a viva-voce vote.	
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	