RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, May 27, 2011, marks the 50th anniversary of the 2

election of John Tower as the Lone Star State's first Republican

3 United States senator since Reconstruction; and

WHEREAS, Born in Houston on September 29, 1925, John Goodwin 4

5 Tower became active in the Republican Party when he was an assistant

professor of political science at Midwestern University; he served 6

7 as a delegate to the Republican National Convention in 1956, and in

1960 his party nominated him to run for the U.S. Senate; and 8

9 WHEREAS, When Lyndon B. Johnson resigned from the senate to assume the vice presidency, Senator Tower won the seat in a special 10 11 election on May 27, 1961; many hailed this event as heralding the 12 advent of two-party politics in Texas; Senator Tower was reelected three times, and over the course of his 24-year career in Congress, 13 14 he wielded enormous influence in a variety of domestic and foreign policy issues, particularly through his service on powerful banking 15 16 committees and on the Senate Armed Services Committee; moreover, he took a leadership role in Republican politics at the state and 17 national level; after retiring from the U.S. Senate in 1985, he went 18 on to serve as the nation's chief negotiator at the Strategic Arms 19

21 Commission in an investigation of the Iran-Contra affair; and

20

22 WHEREAS, Senator John Tower perished in a commuter plane

23 crash in 1991, but his accomplishments have resonated through the

Reduction Talks in Geneva, and he led the group known as the Tower

years, and his election to the U.S. Senate continues to be regarded 24

H.R. No. 5

- 1 as a turning point in the political history of Texas; now,
- 2 therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby commemorate the 50th anniversary of John Tower's
- 5 election to the United States Senate.

Branch Straus

H.R. No. 5

Straus Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Munoz, Jr. Aliseda Gonzalez Gooden Allen Murphy Guillen Naishtat Alonzo Gutierrez Alvarado Nash Hamilton Anchia Oliveira Anderson of Dallas Hancock Orr Anderson of McLennan Hardcastle Otto Aycock Harless Parker Harper-Brown Hartnett Beck Patrick Berman Paxton Hernandez Luna Bohac Pena Bonnen Hilderbran Perry Phillips Branch Hochberg Brown Hopson Pickett Howard of Fort Bend Pitts Burkett Howard of Travis Burnam Price Button Huberty Quintanilla Hughes Raymond Cain Callegari Hunter Reynolds Carter Riddle Isaac Jackson Ritter Castro Chisum Johnson Rodriquez Christian Keffer Schwertner Coleman King of Parker Scott King of Taylor Cook Sheets King of Zavala Craddick Sheffield Creighton Kleinschmidt Shelton Crownover Kolkhorst Simpson Smith of Harris Darby Kuempel Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas Landtroop J. Davis of Harris Smithee Larson S. Davis of Harris Laubenberg Solomons Lavender Deshotel Strama Driver Legler Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Dukes Lewis Dutton Lozano Thompson Lucio III Eiland Torres Lyne Eissler Truitt Elkins Madden Turner Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey Villarreal Farrar Margo Marquez Fletcher Vo Walle Flynn Martinez Martinez Fischer Frullo Weber White Gallego McClendon Menendez Woolley Garza Geren Miles Workman Miller of Comal Giddings Zedler Gonzales of Hidalgo Miller of Erath Zerwas

Speaker of the House							
adopted	d by	the	Но	use	on	May	29,

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 5

I certify that H.R. No. 5 was

2011, by a non-record vote.