RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, An inspiring couple whose lives have been enhanced 2 by a great and enduring love, Joe and Sheila Matlock of Midland celebrated their 45th wedding anniversary on December 23, 2010; and 3 WHEREAS, Joe Matlock and "Sam" Matlock were joined in 4 5 matrimony on December 23, 1965, in a ceremony held at the Midland home of Finis and Katherine Martin; through the years, the Matlocks 6 have been blessed with a treasured family that includes 3 children 7 and their spouses, Benny Matlock and his wife, Candy, Katrina 8 9 McKinney and her husband, Rory, and Kevin Matlock and his wife, Brandi, as well as 11 grandchildren and 4 great-grandchildren; and 10 WHEREAS, Since 1997, Judge Matlock has served as justice of 11 12 the peace for Precinct 1 in Midland; he retired from the Midland Police Department in 1988 and then served in the Midland County 13 14 Sheriff's Office; Mrs. Matlock worked in the oil industry until 1990, when she retired to dedicate her time to caring for her home 15 16 and family; and WHEREAS, Judge Matlock and Mrs. Matlock have been valued 17 members of Midland Christian Fellowship for 26 years; Judge Matlock 18 serves as a member of the board and as head usher, and Mrs. Matlock 19 serves as director of Children's Christian Education; and 20 21 WHEREAS, Joe and Sam Matlock have enjoyed 45 years of abiding love and affection for one another, and they are among an 22 23 exceptional group of men and women who can claim such a lasting

commitment; now, therefore, be it

24

H.R. No. 97

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Joe and Sam Matlock on their 45th
- 3 wedding anniversary and extend to them sincere best wishes for
- 4 continued happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Judge and Mrs. Matlock as an expression of high regard
- 7 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

H.R. No. 97

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 97 was adopted by the House on February 24, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House