## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, One of Collin County's longest-serving public 2 officials, Jerry Hoagland demonstrated exceptional skill and 3 dedication during a distinguished tenure as county commissioner 4 that spanned three decades; and

5 WHEREAS, Mr. Hoagland was first elected to the commissioners 6 court in 1980, when the county population was under 150,000; with 7 his focus on fiscal responsibility and long-range planning, he was 8 instrumental in launching many projects that greatly benefit a 9 community that today numbers 800,000; and

WHEREAS, In the mid-1980s, Mr. Hoagland chaired the steering 10 11 committee for the establishment of Collin College, which has grown 12 to serve more than 51,000 students annually; Mr. Hoagland also chaired the steering committee to create the Collin County 13 14 Adventure Camp, a 427-acre outdoor education facility for area children, and he played key roles in the construction of a new 15 16 courthouse and the consolidation of county offices on a 250-acre complex; and 17

WHEREAS, This dynamic public servant championed the drive to bring Pizza Hut Park to Frisco; in addition, he provided leadership for the adoption of the unitary road system to save taxpayer dollars by increasing productivity and efficiency; he forcefully advocated for improvements to transportation infrastructure, including the President George Bush Toll Road and the Sam Rayburn Toll Road; and WHEREAS, A graduate of the University of North Texas, Mr.

1

1 Hoagland holds both a bachelor's and a master's degree in business from that institution; before joining the commissioners court, he 2 3 served for two years on the Plano City Council and was mayor pro tem; moreover, he has served as president of the Collin County 4 5 Public Officials Association and as a director of the Plano Chamber of Commerce, and he helped countless people through his work with 6 the North Central Texas Mental Health Mental Retardation Services, 7 8 the Plano YMCA, and the Craig Gilbert Scholarship Fund; and

9 WHEREAS, In all his endeavors, Mr. Hoagland is supported by 10 the love and encouragement of his wife, Annette, his children, Amy 11 and Jerry, and his four grandchildren; he is a valued member of the 12 First Baptist Church in Wylie, and his plans for the future include 13 the establishment of a prison ministry; and

14 WHEREAS, Jerry Hoagland has made important and lasting 15 contributions to Collin County, and he can indeed take pride in his 16 accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 18 Legislature hereby commend Jerry Hoagland for his outstanding 19 service as a member of the Collin County Commissioners Court and 20 extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. Hoagland as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Laubenberg

2

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Fischer Martinez McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 107 was adopted by the House on January 13, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House