RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Sebastian Lang-Lessing made his debut as music

director of the San Antonio Symphony on October 2, 2010; and

2

3 WHEREAS, The eighth music director in the 70-year history of

4 the orchestra, Mr. Lang-Lessing was born in Germany and began his

5 professional career with the Hamburg State Opera; he went on to

6 serve as resident conductor of the Deutsche Oper Berlin and as music

7 director of the Orchestre symphonique et lyrique de Nancy in

8 France; under his leadership, the Opera de Nancy advanced to the

9 next level, becoming the Opera national de Lorraine; and

10 WHEREAS, Mr. Lang-Lessing came to San Antonio from the

11 Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra in Australia, where he served as chief

12 conductor and artistic director for six years; over the course of

13 his distinguished career, he has also taken the podium at the Opera

14 Bastille de Paris, the San Francisco Opera, the Houston Grand

15 Opera, and other notable opera houses; moreover, he has led

16 performances by such prominent orchestras as the Tokyo

17 Philharmonic, the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, the Hamburg

18 Symphony Orchestra, and the Orchestra of Paris; and

19 WHEREAS, Noted for his rediscovery of composer Joseph Guy

20 Ropartz, Mr. Lang-Lessing has recorded his symphonies in France,

21 and he has an extensive discography with the Tasmanian Symphony

22 Orchestra that includes works by Saint-Saens, Ravel, and Australian

23 contemporary composer Brett Dean, among others; Mr. Lang-Lessing

24 is a recipient of the Ferenc Fricsay Prize and has received glowing

H.R. No. 112

- 1 notices in publications from the Los Angeles Times to the Berliner
- 2 Zeitung; and
- 3 WHEREAS, A gifted and dynamic artist, Sebastian Lang-Lessing
- 4 brings extensive international experience to his new position with
- 5 the San Antonio Symphony, and his inaugural season with the San
- 6 Antonio Symphony provides a fitting opportunity to recognize him;
- 7 now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby congratulate Sebastian Lang-Lessing on being
- 10 named music director of the San Antonio Symphony and welcome him to
- 11 the State of Texas; and, be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for Mr. Lang-Lessing as an expression of high regard by
- 14 the Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

H.R. No. 112

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	n.k. NO. 112
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 112 was 24, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House