H.R. No. 126

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Danny F. Vance of Arlington is retiring from the 2 Trinity River Authority of Texas on February 28, 2011, after four 3 decades of outstanding service to the agency; and

WHEREAS, A native Texan, Danny Vance was born in Galveston in 4 5 1943, and he was raised alongside his brother, Benny, and his sister, Janis, in Palestine; he graduated from Palestine High 6 School in 1962, and he went on to attend Sam Houston State 7 University, where he earned a bachelor's degree in 1966, served as a 8 graduate assistant, and attained a master's degree in business 9 administration in 1968; he also earned a teaching certificate, and 10 11 for two years he served in the United States Army as a specialist 12 stationed in Germany; and

13 WHEREAS, In 1970, Mr. Vance joined the Trinity River 14 Authority as assistant to the manager of the Southern Region, and later that year he relocated to Arlington to serve as 15 an administrative services manager for the agency; he also held the 16 positions of general services manager and of regional manager of 17 the Northern Region; in 1979, at the age of 35, he became general 18 manager of the TRA, and at the time he was the youngest manager of a 19 20 major Texas river authority and only the second general manager in 21 the agency's history; and

22 WHEREAS, During his tenure, Mr. Vance has overseen the 23 creation of four regional potable water systems and three regional 24 wastewater systems, as well as significant improvements to all nine

1

regional systems, and the TRA became the largest river authority in Texas, with major increases to its assets and annual operating

3 budget; and

1

2

WHEREAS, Mr. Vance further dedicated his time to various regional water planning groups, and he served as president of the Texas Water Conservation Association; he was recognized by many for his leadership in balancing the need for adequate water supplies for a growing population with the environmental needs of the Trinity Basin and the Trinity Bay and Estuary; and

10 WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, Mr. Vance enjoys the love 11 and support of his wife, Janet, whom he married in 1967; the Vances 12 are looking forward to their future retirement; and

WHEREAS, Danny Vance has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to excellence over the course of his career, and he may indeed reflect with great pride on his professional achievements as he prepares to embark on the next exciting chapter of his life; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 19 Legislature hereby congratulate Danny F. Vance on his retirement 20 from the Trinity River Authority of Texas and extend to him sincere 21 best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further

22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 23 prepared for Mr. Vance as an expression of high regard by the Texas 24 House of Representatives.

> Pitts Callegari Nash Gooden

H.R. No. 126

2

H.R. No. 126

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 126

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 126 was adopted by the House on January 25, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House