## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Many proud citizens of Van Zandt County have come to 2 the State Capitol on February 16, 2011, to celebrate the 3 significant part they and their forebears have played in the 4 development of the Lone Star State; and

5 WHEREAS, Created by an Act of the Texas Legislature on March 6 20, 1847, this Northeast Texas county was named for Isaac Van Zandt, 7 a Republic of Texas lawyer, legislator, and diplomat; and

8 WHEREAS, Canton, the county seat, was laid out in 1850 and 9 incorporated in 1919; recently named a Main Street City, it is home 10 to the Van Zandt County Fair and First Monday Trade Days, one of the 11 country's best-known flea markets; a library of genealogy and local 12 history is also a popular attraction and preserves much of the 13 county's notable heritage; and

WHEREAS, The development of this fascinating area can be traced in a number of other communities as well; Edgewood, settled in the 1840s, boasts the Edgewood Heritage Park Museum, a facility dedicated to the preservation of rural cultural and architectural history; and

WHEREAS, Edom, established in 1856, is one of the oldest towns in the county, and its past is highlighted by 10 state historical markers, many of them researched by members of the Edom Historical Society; the residents of this small community also give hearty support to an active civic theater; and

24 WHEREAS, Fruit cultivation prompted the naming of Fruitvale,

1

1 where a nursery operated as early as the 1870s; several generations 2 in this century-old town have treasured the Randall Store, a local 3 institution since 1910; and

H.R. No. 133

4 WHEREAS, Grand Saline, originally called Jordan's Saline, 5 the first Van Zandt County seat, takes its name from an immense dome of pure salt lying beneath the city; more than a mile and a half wide 6 and 20,000 feet thick, the deposit is presently mined by Morton Salt 7 8 Company; the city celebrates salt with an annual Salt Festival; those exploring this 2004 Main Street City can tour the Salt Palace 9 10 Museum, a unique structure built with rock salt crystal, stop by the historical marker that commemorates native son Wiley Post, the 11 12 renowned pioneer aviator, and visit the new Veterans Memorial Wall 13 Park, featuring a genuine U.S. Army tank; and

WHEREAS, Van, established in 1891, remained a quiet farming community until 1929, when the discovery of oil nearby transformed the village into a boomtown; the Van Area Oil and Historical Museum recaptures the excitement of that frenetic time and commemorates the discovery with an annual Oil Festival; and

WHEREAS, Wills Point, settled in 1873 and originally known as Iola, was renamed for William Wills, whose cabin served as a stopping place for those traveling between Shreveport and Dallas; the Wills cabin still stands, as does the Texas and Pacific Railroad depot, which houses the Historical Society Museum; Wills Point, which is officially the Bluebird Capital of Texas, hosts the annual Bluebird Festival; and

26 WHEREAS, Ben Wheeler, surrounded by natural springs and rich 27 farmland, was named for Van Zandt County's first mail carrier,

2

## 1 Benjamin R. Wheeler, in 1876; and

2 WHEREAS, Martins Mill, which got its name from Dan R. 3 Martin's gristmill, was established in 1880 and is home to one of 4 the largest dairies in East Texas; the community survived 5 destruction by tornadoes and fires and today boasts a successful 6 school district; and

7 WHEREAS, Major events in the county include the Texas State 8 Bluegrass Festival, the Edom Festival of the Arts, and the Van Zandt 9 County Relay for Life; for the outdoor enthusiast, the Neches and 10 Sabine Rivers, Purtis Creek State Park, and Lake Tawakoni State 11 Park offer wonderful opportunities for fishing, boating, swimming, 12 and camping; and

WHEREAS, The home of more than 50,000 people, Van Zandt County relies on tourism, oil, and agribusiness; the area is a major producer of hay, blueberries, sweet potatoes, and nursery crops, in addition to cattle, horses, hogs, and dairy products; and

WHEREAS, The citizens of Van Zandt County take justifiable pride in the hard work and ready cooperation that have made their county strong, and it is a pleasure to join them in honoring the county they are proud to call home; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 22 Legislature hereby recognize February 16, 2011, as Van Zandt County 23 Day at the State Capitol and extend sincere best wishes to the 24 visiting Van Zandt residents for an informative and memorable day.

Flynn

3

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 133 was adopted by the House on February 16, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House