## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The football team of C.H. Yoe High School in Cameron 2 enjoyed an outstanding season in 2010, advancing all the way to the University Interscholastic League 2A Division 1 state championship 3 4 game; and 5 WHEREAS, The Yoemen proved their abilities from the outset of the season and went on to win all 10 of their regular season games 6 7 and claim the District 12 title; in the playoffs, the team soundly defeated Newton and then triumphed over East Chambers, Tatum, and 8 9 Lago Vista to earn a shot at the state championship; in a hard-fought championship game, the team battled Daingerfield High 10 11 until the final seconds but ultimately fell by a score of 33-27 to 12 finish as the 2A Division 1 runner-up; and 13 WHEREAS, Throughout the 2010 campaign Yoe benefited from a 14 high-powered offense that averaged 47 points per game; Damyon Kelley rolled up 1,640 yards rushing and scored 25 touchdowns while 15 quarterback Jack Rhoades threw for more than 3,500 yards and 16 tallied 48 scoring passes; other standout performances were turned 17 in by wide receivers Decrick Westbrook, Thomas Rinn, and Zach 18 Brashear, who combined for 152 receptions and 39 touchdowns; and 19 WHEREAS, On defense, the Yoemen had 3 shutouts and held 3 20 21 other opponents to under 10 points; O'Neil Spells and Ty Morgan led the team in tackles, and Cheyenne Black and Edgar Luna also played 22 23 key roles in stopping opposing ballcarriers; moreover, Jarrett Beckhusen and Trevion Sims each had 4 interceptions, and Jairo 24

- H.R. No. 143
- 1 Campa led the team with 9 sacks while averaging more than 12 tackles
- 2 per game; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Winning with a true team effort, the Yoemen also
- 4 received valuable contributions from the other members of the
- 5 roster: Lorenzo Anderson, Tre Anderson, Bonafacio Banda, Juan
- 6 Casillas, Keaton Denio, Ricky Dominguez, Justin Erwin, Sebastian
- 7 Garcia, Elmo Haynes, Quin Haynes, Deantana Holt, Jason Kopriva,
- 8 Jakob Kostroun, Randall Lane, Ed May, David McDonald, Basilio
- 9 Montez, Eduardo Moreno, Ines Rangel, Rey Rangel, Dylan Riola, Zach
- 10 Riola, Martin Rodriguez, Justin Sapp, Chase Shrader, Josh
- 11 Smitherman, Tyler Vrazel, Jessie Westbrook, Quentell Westbrook,
- 12 Jake Young, and Justin Youngblood; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Head coach Rick Rhoades was ably assisted by
- 14 defensive coordinator Billy Anderson, offensive coordinator Jarrod
- 15 Smith, and assistant coaches Tommy Brashear, James Henderson, Randy
- 16 Sapp, and Phil Tucker; and
- 17 WHEREAS, The talented and dedicated student-athletes of the
- 18 Yoe High team are a source of great pride to their many supporters
- 19 in the local community, and their outstanding performance on the
- 20 gridiron is indeed deserving of special recognition; now,
- 21 therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby congratulate the Yoe High School football team
- 24 on its successful 2010 season and extend sincere best wishes to the
- 25 players, coaches, and staff for continued success; and, be it
- 26 further
- 27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

H.R. No. 143

- 1 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 2 House of Representatives.

Schwertner

## H.R. No. 143

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Miles	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Geren	Miles	Workman
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 143
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 143 was 2, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House