By: Schwertner

H.R. No. 143

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The football team of C.H. Yoe High School in Cameron 2 enjoyed an outstanding season in 2010, advancing all the way to the 3 University Interscholastic League 2A Division 1 state championship 4 game; and

5 WHEREAS, The Yoemen proved their abilities from the outset of the season and went on to win all 10 of their regular season games 6 7 and claim the District 12 title; in the playoffs, the team soundly defeated Newton and then triumphed over East Chambers, Tatum, and 8 9 Lago Vista to earn a shot at the state championship; in a hard-fought championship game, the team battled Daingerfield High 10 11 until the final seconds but ultimately fell by a score of 33-27 to 12 finish as the 2A Division 1 runner-up; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the 2010 campaign Yoe benefited from a high-powered offense that averaged 47 points per game; Damyon Kelley rolled up 1,640 yards rushing and scored 25 touchdowns while quarterback Jack Rhoades threw for more than 3,500 yards and tallied 48 scoring passes; other standout performances were turned in by wide receivers Decrick Westbrook, Thomas Rinn, and Zach Brashear, who combined for 152 receptions and 39 touchdowns; and

WHEREAS, On defense, the Yoemen had 3 shutouts and held 3 other opponents to under 10 points; O'Neil Spells and Ty Morgan led the team in tackles, and Cheyenne Black and Edgar Luna also played key roles in stopping opposing ballcarriers; moreover, Jarrett Beckhusen and Trevion Sims each had 4 interceptions, and Jairo

1

1 Campa led the team with 9 sacks while averaging more than 12 tackles
2 per game; and

H.R. No. 143

3 WHEREAS, Winning with a true team effort, the Yoemen also received valuable contributions from the other members of the 4 5 roster: Lorenzo Anderson, Tre Anderson, Bonafacio Banda, Juan Casillas, Keaton Denio, Ricky Dominguez, Justin Erwin, Sebastian 6 Garcia, Elmo Haynes, Quin Haynes, Deantana Holt, Jason Kopriva, 7 8 Jakob Kostroun, Randall Lane, Ed May, David McDonald, Basilio Montez, Eduardo Moreno, Ines Rangel, Rey Rangel, Dylan Riola, Zach 9 10 Riola, Martin Rodriguez, Justin Sapp, Chase Shrader, Josh Smitherman, Tyler Vrazel, Jessie Westbrook, Quentell Westbrook, 11 12 Jake Young, and Justin Youngblood; and

WHEREAS, Head coach Rick Rhoades was ably assisted by defensive coordinator Billy Anderson, offensive coordinator Jarrod Smith, and assistant coaches Tommy Brashear, James Henderson, Randy Sapp, and Phil Tucker; and

WHEREAS, The talented and dedicated student-athletes of the Yoe High team are a source of great pride to their many supporters in the local community, and their outstanding performance on the gridiron is indeed deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Yoe High School football team on its successful 2010 season and extend sincere best wishes to the players, coaches, and staff for continued success; and, be it further

27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2

H.R. No. 143

1 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas

2 House of Representatives.