H.R. No. 155

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Many proud Northeast Texas residents are visiting
- 2 Austin to celebrate Rains County Day at the State Capitol on
- 3 February 23, 2011; and
- WHEREAS, Rains County was created in the late 1800s from
- 5 Hopkins, Hunt, and Wood Counties; the county and its seat, Emory,
- 6 were named in honor of Emory Rains, an early pioneer who served in
- 7 the Congress of the Republic of Texas; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Situated between Lake Tawakoni and Lake Fork
- 9 Reservoir, this lovely area is blessed with an abundant water
- 10 supply and fertile soil characteristic of the Blackland Prairie
- 11 region; the county initially prospered as a thriving agricultural
- 12 and ranching center and today enjoys a diverse economy that
- 13 includes oil production, manufacturing, and tourism; and
- WHEREAS, Emory, which was originally known as Springville, is
- 15 now the largest town in Rains County; it is home to the Rains County
- 16 Fair Grounds and the annual Eagle Fest celebration held in
- 17 February, when the county's lakes are the winter home of many
- 18 American bald eagles and other rare birds; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The city of Point was incorporated in the 1960s and
- 20 is recognized as the birthplace of the National Farmers Union, an
- 21 organization that has grown to include more than 300,000 members;
- 22 the 10 founding fathers of the NFU are memorialized by a historic
- 23 monument in the city which incorporates a statue of the union's
- 24 founder, Isaac Newton Gresham, and a display of the state flags of

H.R. No. 155

- 1 the NFU's member states; and
- WHEREAS, The county's youngest municipality, East Tawakoni,
- 3 was incorporated in the 1960s and has experienced significant
- 4 growth in recent years; this resort area offers residents the
- 5 benefits of a relaxed rural community while providing easy access
- 6 to Dallas; and
- WHEREAS, Proof positive that good things do come in small
- 8 packages, Rains County has indeed played a vital role in the
- 9 development of the Lone Star State, and it is a pleasure to join
- 10 with our fellow Texans in saluting the county and its fine citizens;
- 11 now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby recognize February 23, 2011, as Rains County Day
- 14 at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation from
- 15 Rains County sincere best wishes for an informative and memorable
- 16 stay in Austin.

Flynn

H.R. No. 155

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 155
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 155 was 23, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House