RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Midland and Odessa are gathering
in Austin on February 15, 2011, to celebrate Midland-Odessa Day at
the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Set only 20 miles apart in the ranching and oil country of West Texas, these vibrant Texas cities got their start as stops on the Texas and Pacific Railway in the 1880s; by 1890, Midland was one of the most important centers for shipping cattle in Texas; and

9 WHEREAS, Odessa began its rapid growth with the discovery of 10 oil in the Permian Basin in the 1920s, and by the 1940s, it had grown 11 from 750 residents to 10,000; by 1929, Midland was home to 36 oil 12 companies, and the demand for oil during World War II helped Odessa 13 develop as a major processor and distributor of petroleum products, 14 home to the largest inland petrochemical complex in the world; and

WHEREAS, Today, Midland continues to be the financial and administrative capital of the Permian Basin, while Odessa remains the center for the region's oil processing and distribution; looking to the future, the Midland Development Corporation and the Odessa Development Corporation are working to strengthen and diversify the area's economy; and

21 WHEREAS, Midland is proud to be the hometown of former 22 president George W. Bush and former first lady Laura Bush, as well 23 as the longtime home of former president George H. W. Bush, former 24 first lady Barbara Bush, and former Florida governor Jeb Bush; and

1

1 WHEREAS, Odessa and Midland boast many fine historical and 2 cultural attractions; in Odessa, the Presidential Museum is one of 3 only a few museums in the nation dedicated to the history of the 4 presidency, while the Parker House Museum evokes the life of a 5 prominent Texas ranching family; visitors and residents alike enjoy 6 the live productions at the replica of Shakespeare's Globe Theatre 7 on the campus of Odessa College; and

8 WHEREAS, Midland's Museum of the Southwest offers displays of the art and archaeology of the American Southwest, and the 9 interactive exhibits of the Permian Basin Petroleum Museum present 10 the geology and history of oil in West Texas; the American Airpower 11 12 Heritage Museum of the Commemorative Air Force depicts the history of the U.S. Air Force during World War II; the Midland Festival 13 14 Ballet, the Midland-Odessa Symphony and Chorale, and the Midland 15 Community Theatre offer live performances that inspire and 16 entertain; and

WHEREAS, For more than a century, the dynamic cities of Midland and Odessa have been at the economic and cultural hub of West Texas, and their citizens continue to celebrate their rich history as they work hard to build a prosperous future; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 15, 2011, as Midland-Odessa Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes for a memorable and meaningful stay in Austin.

> Lewis Craddick

2

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 156 was adopted by the House on February 15, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House