H.R. No. 157

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Reverend John E. Fields of First Shiloh 2 Missionary Baptist Church in Houston is serving as Pastor of the Day 3 for the Texas House of Representatives on January 27, 2011; and

WHEREAS, A Bayou City native, Reverend Fields received a Worthing Scholarship on his graduation from M. C. Williams High School; he interned in Washington, D.C., with Congressman Bill Archer and went on to earn his bachelor's degree from Dillard University; today, he is continuing his studies at the graduate level; and

WHEREAS, Reverend Fields worked as minister of Christian education at St. Luke Church and as pastor of Center Union Baptist Church in Wharton before joining First Shiloh Missionary Baptist Church, where he has wholeheartedly committed his talents and energies to serving his congregants and members of the greater Fifth Ward community; and

16 WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, Pastor Fields has been 17 blessed with the support of a loving family that includes his wife, 18 Tammy, and his four daughters; and

WHEREAS, Reverend Fields is an outstanding preacher and community leader, and through the years he has inspired countless Texans with his message of faith and goodwill; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby express its sincere appreciation to the Reverend John E. Fields for his service as Pastor of the Day and extend to him

1

H.R. No. 157 1 warmest best wishes for continued success and fulfillment in his 2 ministry; and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for Reverend Fields as an expression of high regard by the 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 157

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 157

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 157 was adopted by the House on January 27, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House