RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Many notable citizens of Lubbock are visiting Austin
on January 25, 2011, to pay tribute to their city's rich heritage
and to celebrate Lubbock Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, A thriving region of the state, the Lubbock area is one of the oldest inhabited places in Texas; archeologists have discovered evidence of some 12,000 years of continuous habitation at the Lubbock Lake Landmark site, a national historic and state archeological preserve; and

9 WHEREAS, The City of Lubbock was incorporated more than 100 10 years ago on March 16, 1909; the railroads stimulated the city's 11 growth as a trade center, but residents also wanted the benefits of 12 an institution of higher learning; when legislation creating Texas 13 Technological College was finally passed in 1923, the site 14 selection committee, impressed by the enthusiasm and hospitality of 15 its citizens, chose Lubbock for its location; and

16 WHEREAS, Today a city of approximately 220,000 people, 17 Lubbock is home to the Texas Tech University System and its flagship 18 institution, Texas Tech University, a university well deserving of 19 tier one status; and

20 WHEREAS, Lubbock enjoys a diverse economy that draws its 21 strength from agribusiness, manufacturing, and commerce, as well as 22 from educational and medical facilities, boasting the largest 23 medical infrastructure between Dallas and Phoenix; with the growth 24 of cotton culture on the High Plains, Lubbock has become one of the

1

world's primary centers for the processing of cottonseed and hybrid
grain sorghum seed; and

3 WHEREAS, Lubbock also offers a wealth of cultural and 4 recreational opportunities, including the Lubbock Symphony 5 Orchestra, the Lubbock Civic Ballet, the Museum and Planetarium of 6 Texas Tech University, the Silent Wings Museum, and many other 7 cultural offerings at Texas Tech University; and

8 WHEREAS, Those wanting a glimpse of the frontier can find it 9 in the restored structures at the Ranching Heritage Center, a 10 15-acre site tracing the evolution of ranch architecture and the 11 history of the cattle industry; the region's history is also 12 celebrated at the American Museum of Agriculture; and

WHEREAS, The talented musicians who have come from the Lubbock area include Buddy Holly, Roy Orbison, the Maines family, Virgil Johnson and the Velvets, Waylon Jennings, Tanya Tucker, Joe Ely, Jimmie Dale Gilmore, and Butch Hancock; their rich and diverse contributions have earned Lubbock recognition as "The Music Rossroads of Texas"; and

WHEREAS, Lubbock's business community is represented by the largest business federation on the Texas South Plains, the Lubbock Chamber of Commerce, which is one of fewer than 70 chambers of commerce to be accredited at the five star level by the U.S. Chamber of Commerce; and

24 WHEREAS, Among the delegation visiting the Capitol today are 25 proud members of the Leadership Lubbock Class of 2010-2011 and 26 Focus Lubbock Class of 2010-2011, who represent the future business 27 and community leaders of Lubbock; and

2

WHEREAS, The citizens of Lubbock have truly kept faith with 1 the founders of their West Texas community; renowned for their 2 friendliness and warmth as well as their 3 hardiness and 4 determination, they have helped to build a vital urban center that 5 serves not only a large part of West Texas but also eastern New 6 Mexico; now, therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 8 Legislature hereby recognize January 25, 2011, as Lubbock Day at 9 the State Capitol and extend to the members of the visiting 10 delegation and all their fellow citizens sincere appreciation for 11 the bright luster they add to the Lone Star State.

> Frullo Button Landtroop Perry

3

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 163 was adopted by the House on January 25, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House