RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Susan Diane Jackson, who passed away on June 12,
- 2 2010, at the age of 59, lived life with a joy and grace that
- 3 transcended every challenge and that called forth the best in
- 4 everyone she met; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Born on September 26, 1950, and raised in Carrizo
- 6 Springs, Diane Jackson graduated from Southwest Texas State
- 7 University in 1972, earned a master's degree from Sul Ross State
- 8 University in 1976, and was awarded her doctor of education degree
- 9 by Texas A&M University in 1987; four years later, she completed
- 10 postgraduate work at the University of Houston, where she served as
- 11 an adjunct professor of education; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Dr. Jackson taught in San Antonio and Eagle Pass
- 13 before spending the remaining 30 years of her career with the Spring
- 14 Branch Independent School District; in the SBISD she held a number
- 15 of different posts and served most recently as executive director
- 16 for policy administration and governmental relations; she was a
- 17 founding member of the Texas School Alliance and a forceful
- 18 advocate for the schoolchildren of Texas; and
- 19 WHEREAS, During her tenure with the SBISD, Dr. Jackson
- 20 organized innumerable field trips to the State Capitol, in order
- 21 for students to observe legislative proceedings and meet with
- 22 representatives and state senators; she also encouraged students to
- 23 seek legislative internships and supported them in that effort; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Profoundly engaged in the world around her, Dr.

- 1 Jackson was an avid traveler; she reveled in exploring the culture
- 2 and history of the countries she visited and developed a special
- 3 affinity for Italy and China; and
- WHEREAS, This esteemed educator was affiliated with a number
- 5 of professional organizations and served in an advisory capacity
- 6 with the colleges of education at both Texas A&M and the University
- 7 of Houston; in addition, she was an alumna of Leadership Houston and
- 8 Leadership Texas, a life member of the Houston Livestock Show and
- 9 Rodeo Association, and a member and former president of the
- 10 Memorial--Spring Branch Rotary Club; she also held membership in
- 11 the Texas A&M former students association and the 12th Man
- 12 Foundation; and
- WHEREAS, For her outstanding service in behalf of Texas
- 14 students, Dr. Jackson was recognized in 2009 with membership in the
- 15 Dean's Roundtable, an honor conferred by the Texas A&M University
- 16 College of Education and Human Development; in May 2010, the SBISD
- 17 also paid tribute to her stellar professional contributions with
- 18 the creation of the Diane Jackson Scholarship; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The passion and generosity of spirit that Diane
- 20 Jackson brought to every endeavor endeared her deeply to all who
- 21 knew her, and she will be forever treasured by those who were
- 22 blessed to share in her love and affection; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Dr. Susan Diane
- 25 Jackson and extend sincere sympathy to the members of her family:
- 26 to her sisters, Carla Anne Jackson, Jennifer Davis, Marcia Leigh
- 27 Rowland, and Mary Elizabeth Roberts; to her brother-in-law, Larry

- 1 Roberts; to her nieces, Christine Rowland, Alexandria Davis, and
- 2 Liesel Roberts; to her close friend and companion, Richard Cole;
- 3 and to her many other relatives and friends; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 6 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Dr. Susan
- 7 Diane Jackson.

Callegari Bohac Murphy Woolley Vo

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 165		
	Speaker of the House		
I certify that H.R. No. 165 was unanimously adopted by a rising			
vote of the House on February 24, 2011.			

Chief Clerk of the House