H.R. No. 175

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Boot Campaign has made a positive difference in 2 the lives of numerous United States active duty service members and

veterans; and 3

Luttrell; and

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

21

WHEREAS, This charitable initiative was founded by Texas 4 residents Ginger Giles, Leigh Ann Ranslem, Sherri Reuland, Mariae 5 Bui, and Heather Fordham, who wanted to provide their fellow 6 7 citizens with a means to show support for the military; the five women, who call themselves the "Boot Girls," were inspired to 8 9 undertake the project after reading Lone Survivor, the nonfiction account of courageous Navy SEAL and Navy Cross honoree Marcus 10

WHEREAS, The campaign originated as a promotion for a country music concert to benefit the Military Warriors Support Foundation, which offers employment, education, housing, and financial assistance to veterans; the musicians posed for photographs wearing combat boots to symbolize their solidarity with the troops, and the resulting images were recognized for their powerful message; and

WHEREAS, Adopting a national focus, the Boot Campaign soon partnered with a leading military boot manufacturer to sell combat 19 20 boots to civilians, donating the proceeds to foundations that aid returning service members and their families; many politicians and celebrities have posed for photographs to promote the project, 22 23 including Governor Rick Perry and members of the Houston Astros and

24 Dallas Cowboys; and

H.R. No. 175

- 1 WHEREAS, The Boot Campaign works with the Lone Survivor
- 2 Foundation, helping to fund the construction of a veterans ranch
- 3 that will feature rehabilitation and wellness facilities as well as
- 4 programs for children and surviving families; money raised by the
- 5 Boot Campaign also helps those suffering from post-traumatic stress
- 6 disorder; and
- 7 WHEREAS, All American citizens owe a profound debt of
- 8 gratitude to the present and former members of the United States
- 9 armed forces, and the Boot Campaign is helping these brave men and
- 10 women to receive the assistance and appreciation they so richly
- 11 deserve; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby honor the Boot Campaign and its worthy efforts
- 14 to encourage support for our active duty and returning service
- 15 members; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
- 18 Texas House of Representatives.

Hilderbran

## H.R. No. 175

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 175 was	adopted by the House on January
11, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 175

25, 2011, by a non-record vote.