H.R. No. 200

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Judge Brad Bradley is being honored by Southlake
 Style magazine with its Community Impact Award on January 27, 2011;
 and

WHEREAS, Born in Peabody, Massachusetts, Judge Bradley graduated from Northeastern University and went on to attend the New England School of Law; after completing his legal studies at Southern Methodist University's Dedman School of Law in 1978, he opened the first law office in Southlake, and he remains a partner in the firm of Bradley Luce Bradley, R.L.L.P.; and

WHEREAS, Entering public service early in his career, Judge 10 11 Bradley became an assistant criminal district attorney for Tarrant 12 County and then an assistant attorney general for the State of Texas; in 1987, he became presiding judge in Southlake's municipal 13 14 court, and during a tenure that spanned 14 years, he established the court of record and created the Southlake/Carroll Independent 15 School District Teen Court and the Metroport Teen Court, allowing 16 juvenile misdemeanor offenders to satisfy their obligations 17 through community service and involvement in the judicial process; 18 and 19

20 WHEREAS, He has also served as a presiding judge and 21 associate judge for a number of municipal courts, and he presently 22 serves as presiding judge in Westlake and Haslet and as associate 23 judge in Grapevine and Trophy Club; he has held leadership roles in 24 such professional organizations as the American Bar Association,

1

1 the American Judges Association, and the Texas Municipal Courts 2 Association, and he has performed pro bono services for a host of 3 worthy groups; and

H.R. No. 200

4 WHEREAS, Through the years, Judge Bradley has worked 5 tirelessly for the betterment of Southlake, Northeast Tarrant County, and North Texas; he founded numerous business groups and 6 civic organizations, among them the Southlake Chamber of Commerce, 7 8 the Southlake Executive Forum, the Southlake Economic Development Council, the Northeast Leadership Forum, Keep Southlake Beautiful, 9 Inc., and Environmental Task Force, which initiated the city's 10 curbside recycling program; in 1996, he formed the Carroll 11 Education Foundation to benefit the Carroll Independent School 12 District, and he served as its first chair; today, he serves as 13 director emeritus of the organization, which has donated more than 14 15 \$900,000 in grants to teachers and scholarships for graduating 16 seniors; and

17 WHEREAS, Judge Bradley initiated a sister cities program that has brought about cultural, economic, and educational exchanges 18 19 with Tome City, Japan, El Fuerte, Mexico, and Wuzhong, China; in the late 1990s, he cofounded Summer Santa, which is now one of the 20 largest children's charities in North Texas; his most recent 21 philanthropy, the Pro Players Foundation, teams professional 22 23 athletes with community volunteers in a variety of programs to 24 assist area youth; selected Man of the Year by the Southlake Chamber of Commerce in 1989, he has additionally been named one of the 25 26 Pacesetters for Tarrant County by the Fort Worth Star-Telegram and has received the Northeast Leadership Forum's Distinguished 27

2

Community Service Award; Governor Rick Perry commissioned him as an
 Admiral in the Texas Navy in 2002; and

3 WHEREAS, A dynamic leader who inspires others to participate 4 in civic life and charitable endeavors, Judge Brad Bradley has made 5 enormous contributions to Tarrant County, and his accomplishments 6 indeed merit special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Judge Brad Bradley on his receipt
of the *Southlake Style* Community Impact Award and extend to him
sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 12 prepared for Judge Bradley as an expression of high regard by the 13 Texas House of Representatives.

Truitt

H.R. No. 200

3

H.R. No. 200

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 200

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 200 was adopted by the House on January 26, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House