RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud alumni, students, administrators, 2 trustees are gathering in Austin on January 27, 2011, to celebrate The University of Texas-Pan American Day at the State Capitol; and 3 WHEREAS, Located in Edinburg, The University of Texas-Pan 4 5 American is the 10th largest of the state's public universities, with an enrollment of 18,744 students at the beginning of the 6 7 2010-2011 school year; the institution was founded as a two-year community college in 1927, originally consisting of a single 8 9 building and 200 learners, and over the ensuing decades it grew to become a four-year college and then a university; it joined The 10 11 University of Texas System in 1989; and 12 WHEREAS, In the 84 years since its creation, The University 13 of Texas-Pan American has conferred more than 50,400 bachelor's 14 degrees, 10,800 master's degrees, and 100 doctoral degrees; in addition, it ranks second in the nation in the number of bachelor's 15 degrees and fourth in the number of master's degrees awarded to 16 Hispanic students; the institution was named by Forbes magazine as 17 the 32nd best public college in the United States in 2009, ranking 18 third among schools in Texas; and 19 WHEREAS, The University of Texas-Pan American offers 57 20 21 bachelor's, 57 master's, and 5 doctoral or cooperative doctoral programs, plus the only physician-assistant program outside a 22 23 medical school in Texas; students also benefit from a rich social

environment that includes such traditions as the annual Carnival of

24

- 1 the Great Pumpkin on Halloween, Midnight Madness at the start of
- 2 each basketball season, and Homecoming, which includes a battle of
- 3 the bands, the Bronc Olympics, a tailgate party and pep rally, and a
- 4 men's basketball game as part of a week's worth of special
- 5 festivities; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Performing in the Capitol Rotunda on The University
- 7 of Texas-Pan American Day is the university's renowned musical
- 8 group Mariachi Aztlan; the band has won more than 10 first-place
- 9 awards at national mariachi competitions and has been recognized
- 10 for its achievements in promoting Hispanic culture; in the past
- 11 year alone, Mariachi Aztlan was named Grand Champions of the
- 12 Mariachi Spectacular de Albuquerque, performed in the premiere of
- 13 the Houston Grand Opera production of To Cross the Face of the Moon
- 14 (Cruzar la Cara de la Luna), and played for President Barack Obama;
- 15 and
- 16 WHEREAS, The University of Texas-Pan American has
- 17 established itself as a preeminent institution of higher education,
- 18 and residents of Texas are fortunate to have access to this
- 19 exceptional resource; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby recognize January 27, 2011, as The University of
- 22 Texas-Pan American Day at the State Capitol and commend all those
- 23 associated with the university for their contributions to the Lone
- 24 Star State; and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for The University of Texas-Pan American as an expression
- 3 of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Pena

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	Speaker of the House
was	adopted by the House on January

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 221

I certify that H.R. No. 221

27, 2011, by a non-record vote.