H.R. No. 233

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Briarmeadow Charter School in Houston has been named
- 2 a 2010 Blue Ribbon School, the highest national designation a
- 3 school can receive; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Blue Ribbon Schools Program was created by the
- 5 U.S. Department of Education in 1982; to qualify for nomination,
- 6 schools must demonstrate academic superiority within their state or
- 7 show dramatic gains in student performance; in 2010, only 25 Blue
- 8 Ribbon honorees were selected from more than 8,000 public schools
- 9 and charter campuses across the Lone Star State, and less than one
- 10 percent of schools nationally attained this mark of distinction;
- 11 and
- WHEREAS, Since its founding in 1997, Briarmeadow Charter
- 13 School has enjoyed the strong support of the neighboring community
- 14 and an active parents' group; ably guided by principal Peter
- 15 Heinze, the school is part of the Houston Independent School
- 16 District and serves a diverse population of about 550 students in
- 17 prekindergarten through eighth grade; and
- 18 WHEREAS, In a stimulating environment in which individual
- 19 needs and strengths are considered, the teachers and students of
- 20 Briarmeadow Charter School have demonstrated dedication, hard
- 21 work, and perseverance and have built a record of academic
- 22 excellence, which has been duly recognized with this Blue Ribbon
- 23 School designation; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

H.R. No. 233

- 1 Legislature hereby honor Briarmeadow Charter School on its
- 2 selection as a 2010 Blue Ribbon School and extend to its students,
- 3 faculty, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and,
- 4 be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Hochberg

H.R. No. 233

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 233 was adopted by the House on February 24, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House