H.R. No. 241

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Distinguished members of the Baylor University 2 community are gathering at the State Capitol on February 1, 2011, to
- 3 celebrate the school's vital role in the Lone Star State; and
- WHEREAS, Chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas through
- 5 the efforts of Baptist pioneers, Baylor University is the oldest
- 6 continually operating university in the state; originally located
- 7 in Independence, it was later moved to Waco, where the campus
- 8 currently encompasses 735 acres; through the years, the school has
- 9 adapted to meet the ever-changing needs of those it serves, while
- 10 continuing to fulfill its original mission and honor its heritage
- 11 as a Christian university; and
- 12 WHEREAS, This nationally ranked liberal arts institution
- 13 offers 151 areas of study, pre-professional tracks, and specialized
- 14 academic opportunities catering to a student body of more than
- 15 14,000; through its faculty's commitment to teaching, scholarship,
- 16 and interdisciplinary research, Baylor has earned an international
- 17 reputation for educational excellence, and the school's
- 18 outstanding alumni range from heads of Fortune 500 companies to
- 19 religious leaders to governors of Texas; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Baylor University has provided generations of
- 21 students with an exceptional education and a strong, principled
- 22 foundation, and in so doing, it is contributing immeasurably to the
- 23 future of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

H.R. No. 241

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize February 1, 2011, as Baylor Day at the
- 2 State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to all those from the
- 3 university who are visiting here today.

Patrick
J. Davis of Harris
S. Davis of Harris
Eiland
Hancock
Hughes
Paxton
Phillips
Shelton

H.R. No. 241

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 241
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 241 was 1, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House