By: Shelton

H.R. No. 272

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Christian University football team 2 completed an outstanding 2010-2011 campaign, winning all 13 of its games, including its New Year's Day appearance in the Rose Bowl; and 3 WHEREAS, Under the guidance of head coach Gary Patterson, the 4 5 Horned Frogs were victorious in their eight Mountain West Conference games as well as their four nonconference contests; 6 co-offensive coordinators Jarrett Anderson and Justin Fuente saw 7 their charges amass 520 points during the regular season, while the 8 9 defense, under the tutelage of coordinator Dick Bumpas, surrendered just 137 points; on average, the Horned Frogs outscored their 10 11 opponents by an impressive 30 points per game; and

WHEREAS, TCU capped its season with a 21-19 win over Big Ten cochampion Wisconsin in the Rose Bowl, one of the five elite games that are part of the Bowl Championship Series; since the advent of the BCS, the Horned Frogs are the first team from a nonqualifying conference to play in the Rose Bowl and the first to play in BCS games in consecutive seasons; and

first-team 18 WHEREAS, Five TCU players named were All-Americans: Tank Carder, Wayne Daniels, Tejay Johnson, Jeremy 19 20 Kerley, and Jake Kirkpatrick; Mr. Kirkpatrick was also named the 21 winner of the Rimington Trophy, given annually to the best center in college football; and 22

23 WHEREAS, In the final Associated Press Top 25 poll, the 24 Horned Frogs were ranked number two in the nation, the team's

1

H.R. No. 272

highest position since 1938, when it won the national championship 1 under coach Dutch Meyer and the quarterbacking of the legendary 2 3 Davey O'Brien; the 2010-2011 TCU team was also voted number two in the USA Today Top 25 Coaches Poll, which is further proof that the 4 5 school is in the midst of a new golden age of football; three consecutive senior classes have become the winningest in school 6 history, while a dozen former Horned Frogs now play in the National 7 8 Football League; and

9 WHEREAS, With their regular season triumphs and their 10 outstanding performance before a crowd of more than 90,000 fans at 11 the Rose Bowl, the 2010-2011 Horned Frogs added their names to the 12 long list of those who have brought gridiron glory to the Lone Star 13 State, and these young men will cherish their accomplishments 14 throughout their lives; now, therefore, be it

15 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 16 Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Christian University 17 football team for an exceptional 2010-2011 season and extend to its 18 members sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 19 further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 22 House of Representatives.

2