H.R. No. 289

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas PTA are gathering in Austin on
- 2 February 3, 2011, for Texas PTA Rally Day at the Capitol; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Texas PTA is a noncommercial, nonpartisan
- 4 organization that promotes the welfare of the state's young people;
- 5 members are dedicated to securing strong laws for the care and
- 6 protection of children and youth, encouraging cooperation among
- 7 parents and teachers, and uniting educators and the general public
- 8 to ensure the highest advantages in education; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The group's 2011 legislative priorities include
- 10 pursuing an adequate and equitable solution for school funding,
- 11 strengthening penalties for cyberbullying, and supporting programs
- 12 to fight obesity; and
- WHEREAS, Under the skilled leadership of president Sharon
- 14 Goldblatt, the more than 500,000 members of the Texas PTA continue
- 15 to demonstrate a steadfast commitment to public education and to
- 16 ensuring that each child has the opportunity to reach his or her
- 17 full potential; the organization plays an important role in
- 18 advocating for Texas children, and this special day provides an
- 19 opportunity to commend PTA members for their dedication to such
- 20 worthy goals; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby recognize February 3, 2011, as Texas PTA Rally
- 23 Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to PTA members
- 24 who are present on this day; and, be it further

H.R. No. 289

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for the Texas PTA as an expression of high regard by the
- 3 Texas House of Representatives.

Eissler

H.R. No. 289

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 289
	Charker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 289 was	Speaker of the House
3, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the house on rebluary
	Chief Clerk of the House