RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Mansfield are gathering in Austin
 on February 8, 2011, to celebrate Mansfield Day at the State
 Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Located in North Central Texas, the Mansfield area was first settled by Scots-Irish pioneer farmers in the 1840s; the town itself developed some two decades later around a sawmill and a steam-powered gristmill built by Ralph S. Man and Julian B. Feild, for whom it was named; and

9 WHEREAS, The gristmill provided flour to the Confederate Army 10 during the Civil War and later supplied flour and meal to Indian 11 reservations and U.S. Army outposts in West Texas and New Mexico; in 12 1869, Mansfield Male and Female College was founded, later becoming 13 part of the Mansfield Independent School District; the town was 14 incorporated in 1909; and

WHEREAS, Mansfield has since transformed from a rural farming community to a dynamic suburb of Fort Worth and Arlington; in the 17 1970s, when the population was just 5,000, civic leaders encouraged graduate students from the Institute of Urban Studies at The University of Texas at Arlington to renovate the downtown, and today, more than 50,000 residents appreciate those efforts; and

21 WHEREAS, Boasting 240 acres of parkland and a popular annual 22 Pecan Festival, Mansfield appeals to locals and tourists alike; the 23 city's family friendly atmosphere as well as its easy access to 24 Dallas and Fort Worth helped place it in *Money* magazine's top 25

1

1 places in the nation to live in 2009; and

2 WHEREAS, Mansfield combines the best qualities of small town 3 life with all the advantages of a thriving Metroplex suburb, and its 4 citizens may take great pride in their hometown's contributions to 5 the culture and economy of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be 6 it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby recognize February 8, 2011, as Mansfield Day at
the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Zedler Nash

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 292 was adopted by the House on February 8, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House