H.R. No. 294

- RESOLUTION 1 WHEREAS, Distinguished citizens of Irving are gathering on 2 February 8, 2011, to celebrate Irving Day at the State Capitol; and 3 WHEREAS, Irving began its period of rapid growth in the mid-20th century; the Plymouth Park Shopping Center opened in 1955, 4 the University of Dallas in 1956, and Irving Community Hospital in 5 1964; the creation of DFW International Airport and the creation of 6 7 Las Colinas and Valley Ranch master-planned business residential communities contributed further to the city's growth, 8 and the city has been the headquarters of "America's Team," the 9 Dallas Cowboys, as well as the Big 12 Conference, Conference USA, 10 11 and the National Football Foundation; and 12 WHEREAS, Today, Irving has a population of more than 215,000, and it is the home of the first five-star chamber of commerce in 13 14 Texas, the Greater Irving-Las Colinas Chamber of Commerce, which actively represents the interests of the largest business park in 15
- WHEREAS, More than 8,000 companies, and more than 40 17
- companies in the Fortune 500, have a presence in Irving, including
- the Kroger Company, AT&T, Verizon, and Microsoft; moreover, 19
- 20 ExxonMobile, Kimberly-Clark, the Commercial Metals Company,
- 21 Flowserve, and Fluor have global headquarters there; additionally,
- many other successful companies, such as TXU Energy, HMS, and ACE 22
- 23 Cash Express, are located in the city; and

16

18

North Texas; and

24 WHEREAS, Irving's educational and cultural resources make it

H.R. No. 294

- 1 a fine place to live and work; the University of Dallas, North Lake
- 2 College, and other institutions of higher education offer ample
- 3 opportunities for postsecondary education, and the Irving Arts
- 4 Center, as well as three symphony orchestras and two award-winning
- 5 theater companies, provide exceptional cultural programs; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike may delight in the
- 7 gondolas at Mandalay Canal and the stunning sculpture known as the
- 8 Mustangs of Las Colinas, with its associated museum, and the
- 9 headquarters of the Boy Scouts of America features the BSA's
- 10 National Scouting Museum, which tells the history of scouting and
- 11 has the world's largest collection of original Norman Rockwell
- 12 scouting artwork; additionally, the HP Byron Nelson Golf
- 13 Championship is an annual PGA Tour event; and
- WHEREAS, Benefiting greatly from the farsighted leadership
- 15 of Mayor Herbert A. Gears and the members of the city council,
- 16 Michael E. Gallaway, Roy Santoscoy, Allan E. Meagher, Lewis
- 17 Patrick, Rose Cannaday, Rick Stopfer, Gerald Farris, and Joe
- 18 Philipp, Irving is a forward-looking and vibrant city, and its
- 19 creative and hardworking citizens are to be commended for their
- 20 contributions to the prosperity of the Lone Star State; now,
- 21 therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize February 8, 2011, as Irving Day at the
- 24 State Capitol and extend to Irving's mayor, city council members,
- 25 corporate executives, chamber representatives, and other citizens
- 26 present today a warm welcome to Austin.

Harper-Brown

H.R. No. 294

Straus	Gonzales of Williamson	Morricon
Aliseda	Gonzalez OI WIIIIamson	
Allen		Munoz, Jr.
Alonzo	Gooden	Murphy
	Guillen	Naishtat
Alvarado	Gutierrez	Nash
Anchia	Hamilton	Oliveira
Anderson of Dallas	Hancock	Orr
Anderson of McLennan	Hardcastle	Otto
Aycock	Harless	Parker
Beck	Harper-Brown	Patrick
Berman	Hartnett	Paxton
Bohac	Hernandez Luna	Pena
Bonnen	Hilderbran	Perry
Branch	Hochberg	Phillips
Brown	Hopson	Pickett
Burkett	Howard of Fort Bend	Pitts
Burnam	Howard of Travis	Price
Button	Huberty	Quintanilla
Cain	Hughes	Raymond
Callegari	Hunter	Reynolds
Carter	Isaac	Riddle
Castro	Jackson	Ritter
Chisum	Johnson	Rodriguez
Christian	Keffer	Schwertner
Coleman	King of Parker	Scott
Cook	King of Taylor	Sheets
Craddick	King of Zavala	Sheffield
Creighton	Kleinschmidt	Shelton
Crownover	Kolkhorst	Simpson
Darby	Kuempel	Smith of Harris
Davis of Dallas	Landtroop	Smith of Tarrant
J. Davis of Harris	Larson	Smithee
S. Davis of Harris	Laubenberg	Solomons
Deshotel	Lavender	Strama
Driver	Legler	Taylor of Collin
Dukes	Lewis	Taylor of Galveston
Dutton	Lozano	Thompson
Eiland	Lucio III	Torres
Eissler	Lyne	Truitt
Elkins	Madden	Turner
Farias	Mallory Caraway	Veasey
Farrar	Margo	Villarreal
Fletcher	Marquez	Vo
Flynn	Martinez	Walle
Frullo	Martinez Fischer	Weber
Gallego	McClendon	White
Garza	Menendez	Woolley
Geren	Miles	Workman
Giddings	Miller of Comal	Zedler
Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Erath	Zerwas
3		

										Н	.R.	No.	294
								Spea	aker	of the	е Но	use	
	I	certify	that H.R.	No.	294	was	adopt	ed by	the	House	on	Febr	uary
8,	2011,	by a non	record v	ote.									
													

Chief Clerk of the House