H.R. No. 312

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Regents School of Austin football team reached 2 the pinnacle of success by winning the Texas Association of Private 3 and Parochial Schools Division III state football championship for 4 2010; and

5 WHEREAS, In the title game held December 4, 2010, at Temple 6 Wildcat Stadium, the Knights put on an unstoppable display of 7 offensive firepower to defeat Bullard Brook Hill 38-7; with this 8 victory, Regents became the first school in the history of TAPPS to 9 garner five state football titles in one decade, having previously 10 won titles in six-man football in 2001, 2002, and 2003 and in 11-man 11 football in 2006; and

WHEREAS, Head coach Beck Brydon guided the Knights to an overall record of 14 wins and 1 loss over the course of the 2010 season, and the squad outscored opponents 725 to 256; Coach Brydon's efforts were supported by a strong coaching staff that includes Clay Carter, Sam Thompson, Scott Franklin, Mike Lapaglia, Landon Durham, Guy Grace, and Steve Chapman; and

WHEREAS, To bring home the state title, the Regents team relied on outstanding performances from each member of the roster: Salim Hajjar, Dawson Gamble, Joseph Benigno, Ben Grunau, Ben Adams, John Bauman, Andrew Meynig, Walker Netherton, Carson Rice, Hunter Hogan, Jason Chapman, Matthew Baughman, Caleb Smith, Luke Moore, Cole Gilmore, Nick Pawelka, Matthew Deskins, Douglas Meynig, Rodney Keller, Turner Whatley, Gentry Snow, Joseph Edling, Jim Grace, Matt

1

Gore, Connor Kelly, Justin Lambert, Robert Feller, Brandon Larner,
Brian Hine, Stafford Sadler, Caleb Kyle, Chase Strickland, Will
Bowers, Carson Klubnik, and JD McBee; and

WHEREAS, These hard-working young athletes maintained a firm focus on their goals, undeterred by any obstacles that stood in their way; through their diligence, resolve, and commitment to excellence, they have furthered the Knights' exceptional tradition of achievement on the gridiron, and their accomplishments are a source of pride to their families and fellow students; now, therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 12 Legislature hereby congratulate the Regents School of Austin 13 football team on winning the 2010 TAPPS Division III state 14 championship and extend to the players, coaches, and staff sincere 15 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 17 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 18 House of Representatives.

Workman

H.R. No. 312

2

H.R. No. 312

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 312 was adopted by the House on February 24, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House