RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Mission are gathering in Austin on
February 16, 2011, to celebrate Mission Day at the State Capitol;
and

WHEREAS, The city of Mission was founded in 1908, the year the Missouri Pacific Railroad established a station in the area, and the city was named for La Lomita Mission, which was located nearby; since then, Mission has grown to be a thriving city with a population of more than 65,000 people; and

9 WHEREAS, The first citrus trees in the Rio Grande Valley were 10 planted in the Mission area; today, the citrus industry is a 11 multimillion-dollar business and is celebrated each year at the 12 Citrus Fiesta; and

WHEREAS, Mission was immortalized in Larry McMurtry's novel and miniseries, *Lonesome Dove*, and notable residents have included the late United States Senator and Treasury Secretary Lloyd Bentsen and former United States Congressman Kika de la Garza; moreover, Mission was the childhood home of Tom Landry and a second home to Governor Allan Shivers and to William Jennings Bryan; and

WHEREAS, Mission Day at the Capitol provides an opportunity to honor the city's heritage and its many charms, which are enjoyed by residents and vacationers alike; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 16, 2011, as Mission Day at the State Capitol and extend best wishes to the members of the

1

1 visiting delegation for an enjoyable and memorable stay in Austin. Munoz, Jr.

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 318 was adopted by the House on February 16, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House