H.R. No. 333

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A distinguished group from St. Mary's University is
- 2 gathering at the State Capitol on February 14, 2011, to celebrate
- 3 the school and its important contributions to the Lone Star State;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, The oldest university in San Antonio and the oldest
- 6 Catholic university in Texas, St. Mary's was established by
- 7 Marianist brothers and priests in 1852; its 135-acre campus
- 8 northwest of downtown is home to a diverse student body with a
- 9 current enrollment of approximately 4,000; a 13 to 1
- 10 student-to-faculty ratio fosters a close-knit and supportive
- 11 academic community; and
- 12 WHEREAS, This notable liberal arts institution has built a
- 13 national reputation for the quality of its programs and for
- 14 fostering a spirit of civic engagement; St. Mary's University is
- 15 the alma mater of more than 300 elected officials, who have served
- 16 both our state and our nation with distinction; moreover, more than
- 17 70 percent of the university's students participate in community
- 18 service activities; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The Carnegie Foundation granted St. Mary's
- 20 University its prestigious Community Engagement Classification in
- 21 recognition of the school's mission-driven focus on academic rigor,
- 22 community service, and civic participation; Washington Monthly
- 23 magazine rated St. Mary's first in the nation for promoting an ethic
- 24 of service to country, fostering scientific and humanistic

H.R. No. 333

- 1 research, and performing as an engine of social mobility; moreover,
- 2 the John Templeton Foundation lists it as a College that Builds
- 3 Character, and the Princeton Review and Campus Compact named it one
- 4 of the nation's top Colleges with a Conscience; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In addition to its outstanding academic programs,
- 6 the school takes pride in its athletic record; it has won five
- 7 national titles in basketball, baseball, softball, and golf and is
- 8 home to 167 All-American Scholar athletes; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Skillfully guided since 2000 by president Dr.
- 10 Charles Cotrell, St. Mary's University continues to build on its
- 11 rich tradition of academic excellence while encouraging leadership
- 12 and service to the greater community; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby honor St. Mary's University for its exceptional
- 15 contributions to higher education and extend to the visiting
- 16 delegation best wishes for a memorable day at the State Capitol.

Castro Gonzalez Price Rodriguez

H.R. No. 333

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	Speaker	of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 333 was	adopted by the	House on February
11, by a non-record vote.		

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 333

14, 2011, by a non-record vote.