H.R. No. 377

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The 45th annual Texas Legislative Conference is
being held in New Braunfels on March 24 and 25, 2011; and

3 WHEREAS, A nonpartisan forum, this important statewide 4 conference is hosted each year by the Greater New Braunfels Chamber 5 of Commerce, with the assistance of dedicated cosponsors and 6 associate sponsors; more than 500 Texans representing government, 7 education, business, and other key areas come together to focus on 8 public policy issues; and

9 WHEREAS, This year, redistricting, border security, and the 10 state economic outlook are among the topics to be addressed; the 11 event will be dedicated in memory of former conference chair State 12 Representative Edmund Kuempel; and

WHEREAS, The conference accords a special honor to an individual who has had a positive impact on the Lone Star State, and previous honorees include Lady Bird Johnson, Barbara Jordan, T. Boone Pickens, and former president George W. Bush; the 2011 Texan of the Year is Ray Benson of the Grammy-winning music group Asleep at the Wheel, who will be recognized at a reception on March 24; and

20 WHEREAS, For more than four decades, the Texas Legislative 21 Conference has provided a vital opportunity for a cross-section of 22 state leaders to exchange viewpoints, and the conference sponsors 23 and organizers merit special praise for their work on this notable 24 event; now, therefore, be it

1

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 2 Legislature hereby recognize the 45th annual Texas Legislative 3 Conference taking place in New Braunfels on March 24 and 25, 2011, 4 and extend best wishes for a productive and enjoyable gathering to 5 all those attending.

Miller of Comal

H.R. No. 377

H.R. No. 377

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 377 was adopted by the House on March 3, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House