## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Emilio De Los Santos III has been chosen as the 2010 recipient of the Dan Garcia Memorial Achievement Award presented by the Veterans County Service Officers Association of Texas; and WHEREAS, This prestigious annual honor recognizes the accomplishments of a county veterans service officer or assistant

7 been involved in all aspects of veterans' affairs, and who has been

officer who has performed above and beyond the call of duty, who has

8 active in the community the officer serves; honorees must also

9 display a record of continuing education and a patriotic spirit;

10 and

23

the region; and

6

11 WHEREAS, Mr. De Los Santos earned the commendation as a 12 result of his notable work to assist veterans in South Texas in achieving improved access to medical care and other services; he 13 14 has been a leader in the movement to establish a U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs hospital in the Rio Grande Valley so that veterans 15 16 who live in the area do not need to make a five-hour trip to San Antonio for appointments; moreover, he helped galvanize local 17 support for Proposition 8, a Texas constitutional amendment passed 18 in 2009 to authorize funding for the construction and operation of 19 20 VA hospitals; with the Veterans Alliance of the Rio Grande Valley, 21 he has contributed to the creation of a VA health care center in 22 Harlingen, and he continues to press for a full-service facility in

24 WHEREAS, Mr. De Los Santos has been the director of the

for

Hidalgo County Veterans Service Office since 2002; in that role, he helps veterans and their family members in preparing claims for compensation, insurance, pensions, educational benefits, and medical care, and he helps them with appearances at Board of Veterans' Appeals hearings; he also raises awareness about programs and benefits available for former service members through public speaking engagements and organizes outreach initiatives such as

veteran enrollment fairs and welcome-home celebrations

returning military personnel; and

8

9

10 WHEREAS, Committed to keeping elected officials in Austin and Washington informed of the needs of those he serves, Mr. De Los 11 12 Santos has testified before the Texas Legislature and the United States Congress and promoted state legislation related to a 13 14 homestead exemption for disabled veterans; he is a member of the 15 regional board of directors of the Veterans County Service Officers Association of Texas and received the Outstanding Service Officer 16 17 of the Year award in 2007; in addition, he was recently appointed by President Obama to the Selective Service System Local Board, and in 18 19 2010 he was chosen to be part of the VISN 17: VA Heart of Texas Health Care Network Veterans Advisory Board; and 20

WHEREAS, A U.S. Army veteran who served during the Vietnam War era, Mr. De Los Santos was employed for three decades by the Weslaco Independent School District; he holds a master's degree in education and has also worked as Region One Adult Basic Education Service Center director; he has further distinguished himself as president of the Weslaco Mid Valley Lions Club, as commander of VFW Post 10464 in Weslaco, and through his involvement in Weslaco youth

- 1 sports leagues; and
- 2 WHEREAS, The dedication and enthusiasm Emilio De Los Santos
- 3 has brought to his pursuits have made a positive difference in the
- 4 lives of numerous Rio Grande Valley residents who valiantly served
- 5 their nation in the armed forces, and his efforts in their behalf
- 6 are truly deserving of recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby honor Emilio De Los Santos III on being chosen as
- 9 the recipient of the 2010 Dan Garcia Memorial Achievement Award
- 10 presented by the Veterans County Service Officers Association of
- 11 Texas and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success;
- 12 and, be it further
- 13 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 14 prepared for Mr. De Los Santos as an expression of high regard by
- 15 the Texas House of Representatives.

Pena

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 381 was a	adopted by the House on March 3,
by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

2011, by a non-record vote.