## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Library professionals and supporters from across 2 the Lone Star State are gathering in Austin on February 16, 2011, 3 for Texans Support Libraries Day, and this occasion provides a 4 welcome opportunity to recognize the vital importance of our 5 libraries and the contributions made by librarians; and

6 WHEREAS, In 1839, Republic of Texas President Mirabeau B. 7 Lamar established the national library of Texas; today, the 561 8 public libraries in the state range from the Round Top Library, 9 which serves 84 people, to the Houston and Dallas library systems, 10 which serve millions; more than 80 million visits were made to Texas 11 public libraries last year, and nearly 12 million Texans have 12 public library cards; and

WHEREAS, Libraries at Texas universities and community colleges support the studies of more than two million students each year, and school libraries play an integral role in educating close to five million children; children's programs at Texas public libraries draw over three million annually, and the 54-year-old Texas Reading Club keeps more than 500,000 children and teens reading each summer; and

20 WHEREAS, While helping to foster critical thinking, 21 libraries provide opportunities for Texans to enhance their 22 knowledge, education, careers, and quality of life through 23 literacy, technology, job-search, and other training programs; 24 libraries connect Texans with a wealth of electronic resources and

1

1 provide powerful research tools via the Internet; as a result,
2 library users have conducted more than 116.5 million searches of
3 TexShare online resources and retrieved nearly 50 million
4 electronic documents; for people without Internet connections at
5 home, school, or work, public libraries are the primary point of
6 online access, and for 67 percent of Texans, they provide the only
7 free means of online access in their communities; and

8 WHEREAS, The Texas State Library and Archives Commission is a 9 tremendous source of Texas-based knowledge, and along with that 10 organization, librarians work with the Texas Library Association, 11 the Friends of Libraries & Archives of Texas, and other local 12 library groups to improve access to library services; and

WHEREAS, Librarians understand how knowledge is organized and teach users how to find, evaluate, and apply information effectively; moreover, they foster a love of reading and learning in children; and

WHEREAS, For more than 170 years, libraries and librarians have helped Texans reach their fullest potential, and it is a pleasure to join in celebrating the many ways in which they enrich our lives; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 22 Legislature hereby recognize February 16, 2011, as Texans Support 23 Libraries Day at the State Capitol and commend all those 24 participating for their dedication to promoting and supporting 25 library services; and, be it further

26 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared 27 for the Texas State Library and Archives Commission and the Texas

2

Library Association as an expression of high regard by the Texas
 House of Representatives.

Anchia Huberty

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 415 was adopted by the House on February 16, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House