## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The West Texas Area Health Education Center Program 2 has improved access to health care in more than 100 counties through 3 the education and development of the medical workforce; and WHEREAS, West Texas is one of the most medically underserved 4 5 regions in the United States; with a predominantly rural population of approximately 2.8 million people, it encompasses a land mass 6 larger than all but four of the states; 64 of its counties have been 7 designated as Health Professions Shortage Areas, and another 15 8 9 have a partial county or population HPSA designation; the West Texas Area Health Education Center Program, since its founding in 10 11 2002, has sought to address the health care provider shortage by 12 increasing the number of future rural health care providers and supporting the retention of professionals currently practicing; 13 14 and WHEREAS, Established by the Texas Tech University Health 15 Sciences Center, F. Marie Hall Institute of Rural and Community 16 Health, the West Texas Area Health Education Center Program 17 coordinates the efforts of educational institutions, health care 18 providers, communities, and counties; the program's five centers, 19 located in Abilene, Amarillo, El Paso, Midland, and Plainview, are 20 21 hosted by local organizations in partnership with the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; they belong to a national 22 23 network of Area Health Education Centers, which was created by

Congress in 1971 to enhance access to quality health care,

24

H.R. No. 418

- 1 particularly primary and preventive care, by recruiting, training,
- and retaining health care professionals for communities with 2
- 3 critical needs; and

17

- WHEREAS, Because young people raised in underserved settings 4 5 are more likely than others to consider practicing in such a setting, the West Texas Area Health Education Center Program 6 educates local schoolchildren about careers in the medical field, 7 prepares them for these opportunities and encourages their 8 progress, and conducts targeted outreaches to minorities, now 9 10 underrepresented in the health care professions; its 11 community-based clinical training programs introduce health care 12 professions students to underserved communities while enhancing 13 the ability of those communities to recruit new professionals; in 14 addition, the West Texas Area Health Education Center Program 15 provides health needs assessment and planning, coalition building, and strategic prioritization to avert future personnel shortages 16
- and to ensure that the current workforce is well trained; and WHEREAS, Improved access to high-quality health 18 19 strengthens communities, and the West Texas Area Health Education 20 Center Program has greatly benefited quality of life and economic development in the region; now, therefore, be it 21
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 22 Legislature hereby honor the West Texas Area Health Education 23 24 Center Program for its outstanding contributions in behalf of the residents of West Texas and extend to all those associated with the 25 26 program sincere best wishes for continued success in their vital
- endeavors; and, be it further 27

H.R. No. 418

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for the West Texas Area Health Education Center Program as
- 3 an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Quintanilla Keffer Gallego Chisum Marquez

## H.R. No. 418

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 418
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 418 was 22, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House