H.R. No. 419

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Representatives from Texas Instruments are visiting 2 the State Capitol for Manufacturers Day on February 15, 2011, and this occasion presents a fitting opportunity to recognize this 3 notable corporation; and 4 5 WHEREAS, One of the world's largest semiconductor companies, Texas Instruments was founded in 1930 as a geophysical exploration 6 firm; it entered the semiconductor market in 1954 with the 7 introduction of the first commercial silicon transistor; and 8 WHEREAS, TI has long been a leader in innovation with such
- 9 WHEREAS, TI has long been a leader in innovation with such 10 products as the integrated circuit, invented by TI's Jack Kilby in 11 1958, and the handheld calculator, invented in 1967; more recently, 12 TI became the first semiconductor company to earn certification 13 from the United States Green Building Council for constructing 14 environmentally responsible manufacturing facilities, and the firm 15 recycled some 95 percent of its total waste worldwide in 2010; and
- WHEREAS, The first semiconductor company to go global, TI today makes analog chips used in a vast array of electronics around the world, including computer servers, robotics, LED streetlights, and portable ultrasound equipment; the company has a presence in more than 30 countries, serving more than 80,000 customers, and it employs more than 28,000 people worldwide, including 10,000 in Texas; and
- WHEREAS, In 2010, Fortune magazine named TI one of the Most Admired Companies for the seventh consecutive year, the National

H.R. No. 419

- 1 Association for Female Executives named it one of the top companies
- 2 for professional women for the fifth consecutive year, and Working
- 3 Mother magazine inducted it into its Hall of Fame; it was also
- 4 featured once again in Newsweek's Green Ranking of America's 500
- 5 largest corporations; and
- 6 WHEREAS, For more than 80 years, Texas Instruments has been
- 7 an important contributor to the state's economy, and its
- 8 exceptional record of advancements has furthered the Lone Star
- 9 State's global reputation as a technological powerhouse; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby recognize Texas Instruments on the occasion of
- 13 Manufacturers Day at the State Capitol and extend to the
- 14 distinguished guests from TI sincere best wishes for the future;
- 15 and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for the company as an expression of high regard by the
- 18 Texas House of Representatives.

Carter Pena Button

H.R. No. 419

Straus Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Munoz, Jr. Aliseda Gonzalez Gooden Allen Murphy Guillen Naishtat Alonzo Gutierrez Alvarado Nash Hamilton Anchia Oliveira Anderson of Dallas Hancock Orr Anderson of McLennan Hardcastle Otto Aycock Harless Parker Harper-Brown Hartnett Beck Patrick Berman Paxton Hernandez Luna Bohac Pena Bonnen Hilderbran Perry Phillips Branch Hochberg Brown Hopson Pickett Howard of Fort Bend Pitts Burkett Howard of Travis Burnam Price Button Huberty Quintanilla Hughes Raymond Cain Callegari Hunter Reynolds Carter Riddle Isaac Jackson Ritter Castro Chisum Johnson Rodriquez Christian Keffer Schwertner Coleman King of Parker Scott King of Taylor Cook Sheets King of Zavala Craddick Sheffield Creighton Kleinschmidt Shelton Crownover Kolkhorst Simpson Smith of Harris Darby Kuempel Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas Landtroop J. Davis of Harris Smithee Larson S. Davis of Harris Laubenberg Solomons Lavender Deshotel Strama Driver Legler Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Dukes Lewis Dutton Lozano Thompson Lucio III Eiland Torres Lyne Eissler Truitt Elkins Madden Turner Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey Villarreal Farrar Margo Marquez Fletcher Vo Walle Flynn Martinez Martinez Fischer Frullo Weber Gallego McClendon White Menendez Woolley Garza Geren Miles Workman Miller of Comal Giddings Zedler Gonzales of Hidalgo Miller of Erath Zerwas

	H.R. No. 419
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 419 was 15, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House