H.R. No. 444

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The aerospace industry has contributed 2 significantly to the State of Texas; and

3 WHEREAS, The NASA Johnson Space Center and the surrounding

4 aerospace community directly employ more than 18,000 people, and in

fiscal year 2010 they received nearly \$5.3 billion in procurement

6 obligations; the economic impact of this was enormous, with 85

7 large businesses performing approximately \$3.6 billion of work in

8 Texas, and some \$119 million worth of work being provided to small

9 businesses; moreover, the industry contracted nearly \$14.2 million

10 in grants and agreements with Texas universities, \$70.4 million

11 with women-owned businesses, \$10.3 million with veteran-owned

12 businesses, and \$14.5 million with Texas nonprofit organizations;

13 and

15

5

14 WHEREAS, The state aerospace industry leads the nation's

human space exploration program, and among its responsibilities are

16 flying the space shuttle fleet until its retirement, completing the

17 assembly and continuing the operation of the International Space

18 Station, and developing the Orion crew module, which will be used on

19 the nation's next launch vehicle; and

WHEREAS, Thanks in part to the efforts of the Bay Area Houston

21 Economic Partnership, Congress overwhelmingly passed the 2010 NASA

22 Authorization Act, and it was signed into law by the president; this

23 legislation charts a path for future space exploration that

24 includes three shuttle flights in 2011, continuing support for the

H.R. No. 444

- 1 International Space Station at least through 2020, development of a
- 2 new launch system that leverages investments already made in the
- 3 Ares launch systems, and continued funding of a multipurpose crew
- 4 vehicle that uses the designs, systems, and safety features of the
- 5 Orion project; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The human space exploration program is essential to
- 7 America's global leadership, economic competitiveness, and job
- 8 creation, and the technological innovations pioneered by NASA
- 9 benefit not only the nation's safety and security, but also the
- 10 communications and health care industries, as well as others; and
- 11 WHEREAS, NASA and the entire aerospace community have long
- 12 made a vital and positive difference in the Lone Star State, and
- 13 they are indeed deserving of recognition; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby honor NASA and the aerospace industry for their
- 16 leadership and accomplishments in the State of Texas.

J. Davis of Harris Legler

H.R. No. 444

Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings	Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Miles Miller of Comal	Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler
Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Erath	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 444
	Charles of the House
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 444 was 16, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
16, 2011, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House