H.R. No. 482

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Legendary musician Ramon Ayala has demonstrated
- 2 great generosity and civic spirit by presenting an annual Christmas
- 3 Posada in Hidalgo for more than a decade; and
- 4 WHEREAS, A superstar with thousands of devoted fans and
- 5 numerous Grammy and Latin Grammy Awards to his credit, Mr. Ayala has
- 6 dedicated himself to helping his fellow residents celebrate the
- 7 holidays by staging the posada in conjunction with the Hermes Music
- 8 Foundation and the City of Hidalgo; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The Ramon Ayala Christmas Posada was first presented
- 10 in 2000, and the event is highlighted by a toy giveaway in which
- 11 children line up at the musician's house to receive a ticket for a
- 12 free gift; the presents delight some 10,000 youngsters each year
- 13 and are an especially treasured holiday tradition for those from
- 14 disadvantaged backgrounds; and
- WHEREAS, The posada also includes a mass and a nativity
- 16 reenactment, and the day comes to an exciting close when the man
- 17 known as El Rey del Accordeon--the King of the Accordion--joins
- 18 with other performers to present a free concert; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Though he has brought enjoyment to countless music
- 20 fans over the course of his career, Ramon Ayala is equally devoted
- 21 to bringing the joy of the holiday season to all members of his
- 22 community, and his efforts are indeed deserving of recognition;
- 23 now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

H.R. No. 482

- 1 Legislature hereby honor Ramon Ayala for his role in presenting the
- 2 annual Ramon Ayala Christmas Posada in Hidalgo and extend to him
- 3 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. Ayala as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Gutierrez

TT	_	7. T	482
	-	$N \cap$	71 🔾 7

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 482 was adopted by the House on March 3, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House