H.R. No. 486

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Sue Zukowski of Alpine retired from Sul Ross State
2 University on January 31, 2011, drawing to a close a notable career
3 in public service that spanned nearly a quarter of a century; and

WHEREAS, A native of Michigan, Ms. Zukowski lived in South Dakota, New Mexico, and Colorado before moving to Alpine with her husband, who attended Sul Ross State University in the late 1960s; and

8 WHEREAS, Ms. Zukowski began her exemplary 23-year tenure at 9 Sul Ross in 1987, when she joined the staff of the Wildenthal 10 Library as a library assistant; she transferred to the Office of 11 Human Resources in 1989 and served as a secretary and an 12 administrative secretary there before becoming an employment 13 specialist; and

14 WHEREAS, In addition to her professional accomplishments, 15 Ms. Zukowski has hand-stitched more than 10 quilts since taking up 16 the craft in 2003, and she is also a talented cornet player who has 17 performed with the Alpine Orchestra; moreover, she belongs to the 18 Alpine Community Band and the Hungry 5 Oompah Band; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Zukowski enjoyed 34 years of marriage with her husband, John, who passed away in 2008, and she takes great pride in their son, Geoff, and three grandchildren, Kimber, Bobby, and Johnny; and

23 WHEREAS, Sue Zukowski benefited the members of the Sul Ross 24 community with her dedication and professionalism, and she may

1

1 indeed reflect with pride on a career well spent as she embarks on 2 the next exciting chapter of her life; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Sue Zukowski on her retirement from 5 Sul Ross State University and extend to her sincere best wishes for 6 continued happiness; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for Ms. Zukowski as an expression of high regard by the 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

H.R. No. 486

2

H.R. No. 486

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 486

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 486 was adopted by the House on March 3, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House