H.R. No. 493

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas Cowboy Poetry Gathering is celebrating its
- 2 25th anniversary from February 25 through 27, 2011, on the campus of
- 3 Sul Ross State University in Alpine; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This annual event brings together talented
- 5 performers to present the poetry, stories, and music of the working
- 6 cowboy; it was founded in 1986 by Sul Ross literature professor Dr.
- 7 Barbara "Barney" Nelson, a widely published poet, photographer, and
- 8 essayist whose books include an anthology of cowboy poetry called
- 9 Here's to the Vinegarroon!; and
- 10 WHEREAS, After attending the first Cowboy Poetry Gathering in
- 11 Elko, Nevada, in 1985, Professor Nelson was inspired to create
- 12 something similar on the Sul Ross campus; she collaborated with
- 13 Gary Dunshee, who created the companion event, Trappings of Texas,
- 14 an exhibit of cowboy gear and western art that benefits the Museum
- 15 of the Big Bend; together, the Texas Cowboy Poetry Gathering and
- 16 Trappings of Texas have become important local and regional events,
- 17 and their shared anniversary is being commemorated with the 25th
- 18 Silver Celebration and Dance, featuring country musician David
- 19 Ball; and
- WHEREAS, Thanks to the vision of Dr. Barney Nelson, the Texas
- 21 Cowboy Poetry Gathering has showcased a unique oral tradition for a
- 22 quarter of a century, and in so doing, it is helping to ensure that
- 23 the culture of the working cowboy is appreciated by today's
- 24 generation of Texans; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 493

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Barney Nelson on the occasion
- 3 of the 25th annual Texas Cowboy Poetry Gathering in Alpine and
- 4 extend to all those associated with the event sincere best wishes
- 5 for an entertaining and memorable anniversary weekend; and, be it
- 6 further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Dr. Nelson as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.

Gallego

H.R. No. 493

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 493
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 493 was 22, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House