H.R. No. 499

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
- 2 join the members of the Texas FFA Association and citizens across
- 3 the state in celebrating February 22, 2011, as Texas FFA Day at the
- 4 State Capitol; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Held in conjunction with National FFA Week, Texas
- 6 FFA Day at the Capitol celebrates the many contributions this
- 7 exceptional organization has made to agricultural education
- 8 throughout the Lone Star State and the nation; and
- 9 WHEREAS, With more than 80,000 members, the Texas FFA
- 10 Association is the largest organization of its kind in the country;
- 11 members are led by an elected group of state officers who each
- 12 represent one of the 10 FFA areas in the state; and
- WHEREAS, The Texas FFA Association awards more than \$2
- 14 million in scholarships to deserving members each year in
- 15 recognition of their academic accomplishments as well as their
- 16 participation in FFA programs and activities; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Nearly 113,000 students are enrolled in
- 18 agricultural education courses in Texas, and the Texas FFA
- 19 Association plays an important role in helping them achieve
- 20 success; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby recognize February 22, 2011, as Texas FFA Day at
- 23 the State Capitol and extend to the members, advisors, and guests of
- 24 the Texas FFA Association a warm welcome and best wishes for a

H.R. No. 499

- 1 memorable day in Austin; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the Texas FFA Association as an expression of high
- 4 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hardcastle

## H.R. No. 499

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 499
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 499 was 22, 2011, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House