H.R. No. 500

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Citizens of Montague County suffered 2 immeasurable loss with the passing of Senior Corporal David Ralph 3 Slaton on September 20, 2010, at the age of 56; and WHEREAS, A trooper with the Texas Department of Public 4 5 Safety, Corporal Slaton died as the result of a traffic accident while he was on duty, and his death has had a profound impact on both 6 the extended circle of law enforcement officers to which he 7 belonged and the community that adopted him as one of its own; and 8 9 WHEREAS, Born in Texarkana on October 11, 1953, David Slaton graduated from Texas High School in 1971 and completed training to 10 11 become a state trooper in 1974; his first assignment took him to 12 Bowie, where he ultimately spent his entire career; an imposing presence, Corporal Slaton brought to his work a tireless dedication 13 14 and an unfailing professionalism, qualities that earned him the deep respect of colleagues and fellow citizens alike; and 15 WHEREAS, David Slaton contributed to his community in his 16 off-duty hours, as well; he especially enjoyed coaching youth 17 basketball and Little League teams, and he was an enthusiastic 18 supporter of Jackrabbit sports; other favorite pastimes included 19 20 golfing and exploring the digital world through his computer; and 21 WHEREAS, Though his vocation was a demanding one, Corporal 22 Slaton handled its challenges with a strength of spirit that shone 23 through all his endeavors; his cheerful nature and irrepressible grin were as much a trademark of this widely admired Texan as his 24

H.R. No. 500

- 1 towering, six-and-a-half-foot frame; and
- 2 WHEREAS, David Slaton and his wife, the former Lynetta
- 3 Boudreaux, exchanged wedding vows on February 27, 1982, at First
- 4 Baptist Church in Bowie; they shared a rewarding marriage of 28
- 5 years and became the proud parents of a son, Bo; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Throughout his long and honorable career, David
- 7 Slaton exemplified the highest ideals of his profession, and those
- 8 who were privileged to share in the warmth of his affection will
- 9 forever hold him close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Senior Corporal David
- 12 Ralph Slaton and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his
- 13 family: to his wife, Lynetta Slaton; to his son, Bo Slaton; to his
- 14 parents, Ralph Owen and Anne Belle Slaton; to his sisters, Deanna
- 15 Torrens and her husband, George, and Teresa Moss; to his
- 16 mother-in-law, LaVella Boudreaux; to his brother-in-law, Robert
- 17 Boudreaux; and to his many other relatives and friends; and, be it
- 18 further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 21 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Senior
- 22 Corporal David Ralph Slaton.

Hardcastle

## H.R. No. 500

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 500
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 500 was rote of the House on March 3, 2011.	unanimously adopted by a rising
occ of the house on haren 3, 2011.	
	Chief Clerk of the House