## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Residents of the Texas Panhandle are gathering in
Austin on February 22, 2011, to pay tribute to their region's rich
heritage and to celebrate Panhandle Day at the State Capitol; and
WHEREAS, One of the oldest inhabited areas of Texas, where

5 vast grasslands once thrived, the Panhandle is crossed by the 6 Canadian and Red Rivers, rests over the southern tip of the Ogallala

7 Aquifer, and offers breathtaking views of Palo Duro Canyon; in the

8 1880s, three million acres of Panhandle land that was traded by the

9 state to finance construction of a new Texas Capitol became known as

10 the XIT Ranch; and

11 WHEREAS, Ranching became central to the Panhandle's culture 12 and economy in the late 19th century, and the arrival of the 13 railroads and dryland farming techniques expanded the role of wheat 14 and cotton farming; the discovery of oil and natural gas in the 15 1920s further diversified the economic base, and today, ranching, 16 farming, and the petroleum industry continue to be important to the 17 region; and

WHEREAS, Amarillo, in Potter and Randall Counties, is essential to the prosperity of the Panhandle with Tyson Foods, Bell Helicopter, B&W Pantex, and two health care systems all serving as major employers; in addition to the city of Hereford, which is regarded by many as the "Beef Capital of the World," other bedrock communities in the Panhandle include Borger, Cactus, Canyon, Childress, Clarendon, Dalhart, Dumas, Groom, Gruver, Pampa,

- 1 Panhandle, Plainview, Skellytown, Stratford, Texhoma, and
- 2 Whitedeer; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The Panhandle is home to such premier educational
- 4 institutions as the Texas Tech University System, with its schools
- 5 of medicine and pharmacy, and West Texas A&M University, both of
- 6 which boast nationally recognized programs and faculty; Amarillo
- 7 College and South Plains College continue to be among the finest
- 8 community colleges in the country, and Wayland Baptist University,
- 9 Frank Phillips College, and Clarendon College also offer an
- 10 outstanding education; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Visitors and residents alike enjoy a range of
- 12 attractions, including the Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum, the
- 13 largest history museum in Texas, as well as the Amarillo Museum of
- 14 Art, the public art installation Cadillac Ranch, and the American
- 15 Quarter Horse Association's international headquarters; other
- 16 cultural assets include the Lone Star Ballet and the Amarillo
- 17 Symphony; and
- WHEREAS, Renowned for their hospitality, strong work ethic,
- 19 and resilience, the citizens of the Texas Panhandle may take great
- 20 pride in all they have done to make their region one of the
- 21 treasures of the Lone Star State, and it is a pleasure to pay
- 22 tribute to the Panhandle of Texas and the region's fine residents;
- 23 now, therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize February 22, 2011, as Panhandle Day at
- 3 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting guests sincere best
- 4 wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Price Smithee Chisum Landtroop

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 504
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 504 was	adopted by the House on February
22, 2011, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House