H.R. No. 522

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Citizens from Karnes County are gathering in Austin
 for a special day at the State Capitol on March 16, 2011; and

3 WHEREAS, Located in the Rio Grande plain region, the county 4 was named for Henry Wax Karnes, a Texas revolutionary war hero, and 5 was officially organized on February 4, 1854, when the legislature 6 passed a measure recognizing its establishment; and

7 WHEREAS, Karnes County benefited from the arrival of the 8 railroads in the mid-1880s, and the improved access to markets 9 ushered in the diversified farming, livestock, and ranching economy 10 that has been important to the area ever since; and

11 WHEREAS, Today, the region's leading businesses include not 12 only agricultural operations but also oil and gas production, 13 uranium mining and milling, guar processing, and fiberglass 14 manufacturing; and

WHEREAS, Karnes County is home to Panna Maria, the nation's 15 16 oldest Polish settlement, and the ghost town of Helena, the former county seat, which features a museum in the restored courthouse; 17 18 additional attractions in the area include the church of Czestochowa and various annual community events, including the 19 20 Lonesome Dove Fest in Karnes City; Kenedy, Falls City, Gillett, Hobson, and Runge are just a few of the unique towns that may be 21 found in the county; and 22

23 WHEREAS, Residents of Karnes County are preserving the 24 character and history of their unique region while working to build

1

H.R. No. 522
1 a prosperous future, and they are indeed deserving of recognition
2 for their contributions to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be
3 it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby recognize March 16, 2011, as Karnes County Day
at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
best wishes for an enjoyable day in Austin.

Aliseda

H.R. No. 522

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 522

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 522 was adopted by the House on March 16, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House