## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Many proud residents of Bee County are gathering at 2 the State Capitol to celebrate Bee County Day on March 17, 2011; and 3 WHEREAS, Officially organized on January 25, 1858, Bee County was named for Barnard E. Bee, Sr., a South Carolina attorney, 4 soldier, and statesman who joined the Army of the Republic of Texas 5 and served as secretary of war under Sam Houston; recovered 6 7 artifacts indicate that the area was originally inhabited 6,000 to 10,000 years ago; the first permanent European settlers arrived in 8 9 the early 19th century, and 11 Bee County landowners were among the signers of the Texas Declaration of Independence; and 10 11 WHEREAS, Located in the South Texas Plains vegetation region, 12 Bee County covers 866 square miles that slope gently toward the Gulf Coast; with the region's open expanses of grasslands, the local 13 14 economy is dominated by farming and ranching but also welcomes oil and gas extraction and agribusiness; in 1954, the first U.S. Navy 15 16 all-jet base opened at the Naval Auxiliary Air Station in Beeville, the county seat, and still contributes a significant amount to the 17 region's economy; other towns in the county include Skidmore, Blue 18 Berry Hill, Pettus, Tuleta, Tynan, Pawnee, Normanna, and Mineral; 19 20 and 21 WHEREAS, Bee County is blessed with an array of cultural and historical attractions for residents and visitors to explore; art 22 23 enthusiasts may delight in the educational programs and exhibits of the Beeville Art Museum, which is funded by the Joe Barnhart 24

- 1 Foundation and housed in the historic Esther Barnhart House; in
- 2 addition, Beeville has successfully revitalized its downtown
- 3 district and has been named a Texas Main Street City by the Texas
- 4 Historical Commission; Coastal Bend College--Beeville offers
- 5 occupational as well as academic classes for its students and has
- 6 one of the only public, fully functioning glassblowing facilities
- 7 in the state; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The residents of Bee County may take great pride in
- 9 their heritage and contributions to the Lone Star State, and it is a
- 10 pleasure to pay tribute to the county and its citizens on this
- 11 special day; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby recognize March 17, 2011, as Bee County Day at
- 14 the State Capitol and extend to those visiting today sincere best
- 15 wishes for an enjoyable stay in Austin.

Aliseda

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

-----

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 527 was adopted by the House on March 17, 2011, by a non-record vote.

\_\_\_\_\_

Chief Clerk of the House