H.R. No. 532

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of Lions Clubs International are visiting
 the State Capitol on February 23, 2011, to celebrate Lions Club Day;
 and

WHEREAS, Founded by Chicago businessman Melvin Jones in 1917, 4 5 the Lions Club was organized around its motto of "We Serve"; members work for the betterment of their fellow citizens through their 6 involvement in a number of worthy causes, including diabetes 7 8 detection and research, international cooperation and 9 understanding, and drug education and prevention; the group has also been inspired by Helen Keller to assist the visually impaired 10 through such efforts as Sight First, the world's largest blindness 11 12 prevention program; and

WHEREAS, Lions Clubs became an international group in 1920, when the first Canadian chapter was established; through the years, the association has continued to grow steadily, becoming the largest service organization in the world, with 1.3 million members in more than 200 countries; and

WHEREAS, Chapters in the Lone Star State are fortunate to have a number of able leaders; District 2S-2 in East Texas is skillfully overseen by governor Glenn Starr, first vice governor Rick Reynolds, MD-2 council chair elect and Barron Cagle Lions World Services for the Blind past district governor Harry Goetzman, and public relations and information officer Keith Nielsen; and WHEREAS, Through more than nine decades, Lions Clubs

1

1 International has enriched the lives of countless individuals, and 2 its members may take justifiable pride in their shared legacy of 3 good works; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature hereby recognize February 23, 2011, as Lions Club Day
at the State Capitol and extend to all those in attendance sincere
best wishes for a memorable visit; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives.

Legler

H.R. No. 532

2

H.R. No. 532

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 532

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 532 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House