H.R. No. 538

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Tourism is a vital contributor to the economy of the
Lone Star State, and the travel industry is being recognized at the
Capitol on February 22-23, 2011; and

WHEREAS, In 2009 alone, 186 million visitors traveled to and within the State of Texas, resulting in \$51.8 billion of direct travel spending, which in turn has supported some 526,000 jobs; and

7 WHEREAS, Known the world over as a travel destination, Texas 8 is visited by countless people from other countries, with 9 international travelers accounting for approximately \$4.1 billion, 10 or 10 percent, of tourist spending; and

11 WHEREAS, For every dollar invested in domestic advertising to 12 promote Texas as a desirable place to visit and vacation, an 13 estimated seven dollars is generated in state tax revenues; this 14 significant return on investment would not be possible without 15 state funding to advertise Texas as a place like no other that must 16 be seen and experienced firsthand; and

WHEREAS, Tourism is indeed big business in Texas, helping communities, both large and small, to thrive and create jobs, and its importance to the state's economy is aptly reflected in the industry's current theme, *Travel Matters*; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature hereby honor the travel industry in Texas and recognize it for the crucial role that tourism plays in the economy of our state.

1

H.R. No. 538

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 538

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 538 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House